The Knit Knack's Blog

Better living through fibre

Back to the present

Leave a comment

It”s not been all slipped stitches and unwearable art.  Gradually, my hands caught on, and I started to learn the first principles of knitting. Some I have figured out on my own (again, not vouching for the techniques here) but many a leap in understanding came from Stephanie Pearl-McPhee’s “Knitting Rules,” and Debbie Stoller’s “Stitch-n-Bitch Nation.”  I’ve gone from wholely clueless to telling yarns apart, substituting, and lately even designing my own stuff.  I now enjoy a good pattern but don’t cling to it for dear life.

  • This is what’s on my needles now:
    Norwegian mitt in the making

    Norwegian mitt in the making

    Mindless - moss stitch cotton bag from "Debbie Bliss Home Collection"

    Mindless - moss stitch cotton bag from "Debbie Bliss Home Collection"

    Toby is kicking up a fuss, so I better go let him out.  He’s only as good as the attention he gets, this dog!  I am speaking tonight (rather reluctantly), so the status quo above will not be troubled:)

Author: iriegemini

Lara is originally from Jamaica, living in the Greater Toronto Area with N, and a cat, Melvin. She knits, spins, weaves, and is a chatterbox on all of the above. Lara's journey began as a young girl with her Grandmother's cross-stitch embroidery stash & blessing.

Leave a Reply

