The Knit Knack's Blog

Better living through fibre

First post:)

2 Comments

I’m happy to be finally setting out in the blogging world:)

The knitting thing began when I came to Canada, knew next-to-no one and was in serious culture shock.  The hubby had lived here as a kid & he fed me this line about Canada being just like Jamaica, thanks to the English… Ill-prepared, I was.  In the first winter, I was doing the rite-of-passage “requalifying”, and was pretty sorry for myself.  Missed my dog, my life, and routinely was upsetting the good people by chattering with abandon as we do in the Caribbean.  The biggest problem about winter clearly was how to dress.  Countless souls told me to “layer.”  Since they were not lifting up the top layer to show & tell, I was stuck without a clue.  This was 2005, and it seemed like the only hats, scarves & gloves were garish pink confections… Not even the cold and travelling hubby could bring me to buying those things.  I also had enough sense to know that the granny hand-me-downs were doing nothing for me – double knit green acryllic?  Hello!

So with this confluence of push-factors, I eventually bought the Knitter’s Directory (40% off helped) at Chapters, and continued to eye the local yarn store.  Hubby was amused.  His mother had taken the cold in the 70’s and crocheted.  He was more amused by first attempts.  Man, did it take some higher-level concentration.  I’m surprised the pictures didn’t wilt under my stares…  Plus with a failed attempt at piano under my belt, I knew that my hands were clumsy.  Anyhow, the Walmart yarn was put to good use, and became a skinny tube of a non-scarf.  Even I could see that.  Nothing in the directory could explain the problem, and I finally broke the ice and marched over to the LYS.  Good move.  Margaret calmly told me garter stitch does that, and kindly said that the skinny scarf is “in.”  She gave me another book, and sent me on my way.  I’m going to have breakfast but will upload pics later.

Anyhow, I’ve come a long way since first attempts, and truly love knitting.  It’s my Canadian thing.  I’m sure my technique is wonky but a month off work has led me so far that I got Knitting Around by Elizabeth Zimmerman & am trying her Norwegian mitts (again, straining to make my hands understand)!  This hiatus may be short-lived but it’s time to share The Knit Knack:)

Author: iriegemini

Lara is originally from Jamaica, living in the Greater Toronto Area with N, and a cat, Melvin. She knits, spins, weaves, and is a chatterbox on all of the above. Lara's journey began as a young girl with her Grandmother's cross-stitch embroidery stash & blessing.

2 thoughts on “First post:)

  1. As someone who loves to receive items. I have to welcome you to the craft world and to blogging.

  2. it is always good when you find time to do the things you love, however you came about doing them 🙂 you love to knit and i think you like to write also…keep it up and yes pictures please!!

Leave a Reply

