The Knit Knack's Blog

Better living through fibre

Learning curve

Leave a comment

The first attempts were sad little puppies but I loved them!

  • The pink streamer (little scarf to my mind) was in the yarn-to-hand school.

    Pink streamer - until I ran out of remnant yarn.

    Pink streamer - until I ran out of remnant yarn.

  • The blue tube scarf was really disappointing, even with Margaret’s kind words.  I was starting to learn that left to my own devices the stitch gauge would be all over the place.  It’s a veritable triangle that scarf:).

    Not quite a scarf

    Not quite a scarf

  • Next, we invested in some Walmart yarn, in purple.  Labels were still a mystery but I had a book!  I learned to take all of the pattern/ book directions to heart after this one.  The ‘how to hold working yarn’ instruction really made sense when I saw the thick boucle magically become ‘airy’ in my loosey-goosey hands…  This hat was a thing of joy.  I proudly wore the hat for a couple dinner dates.  Hubby was more than amused, especially when ‘airy’ and snowstorm met…  Friends were a little underwhelmed to my mind.  It wasn’t a curly tube, and for that I was happy… Purple hat has a place of honour on my dresser.

    Yes, a hat

    Yes, a hat

  • Last of the sad puppies is the matching purple mits.  What a pair they are:)  The picture should show the asymetry & how I managed to lapse into garter stitch by mistake.  They might have fit my hands at age 10 but not now.  That was Gauge 101 in my trial & error year:)

    A thumb & a half

    A thumb & a half

  • Of course, I flunked Gauge 101, so we have the Needle Sock.  So named because the lovely sock will never fit a human foot.  Produced thanks to my buying the only bamboo DPNs in the yarn store – size 1.  Yes, I finally managed the DPNs on bamboo but this sock refused to go past my big toe.

    Needle sock!

    Needle sock!

Author: iriegemini

Lara is originally from Jamaica, living in the Greater Toronto Area with N, and a cat, Melvin. She knits, spins, weaves, and is a chatterbox on all of the above. Lara's journey began as a young girl with her Grandmother's cross-stitch embroidery stash & blessing.

Leave a Reply

