The Knit Knack's Blog

Better living through fibre

Bass Ackwards

Leave a comment

It appears that my knit stitch is bass ackwards.  This is a biggie.  I probably had it semi-right at some point of the learning curve – until my mind went on its own tangent.  I looked back this morning to the ‘how to knit’ pages of my Knitting Directory, and sure enough it does say pretty clearly that you go through the front loop.  Pictures provided do show the same.  How I probably managed to knit from the back all along is by latching onto the idea that a purl is to the front but a knit is to the back.  It’s been a happy existence.  I mean they look like knit stitches, and act like knit stitches…

The real issue arose when I couldn’t crack the KF&B business.  Which interpreted means, Knit front & back.  What tripped me up here was the instruction of  “knit the usual way but do not slip the new stitch off, and knit into the back loop of the same stitch.”  My knit the ususal way is through the back.  What on earth would one do to knit in front?  All attempts were purls you see.  It bothered me but I fudged a twisty stitch that gave an increase & moved on.  True ugliness happened when I tried the vines pattern on the fingerless gloves in “Stitch ‘n’ Bitch Nation,” so I ripped back, and made it a simple cable pattern.  This became the perfect gift to Hubby, Mittens, VRik and me.  Here’s the Hubby wearing his:

Manly fingerless gloves with cable

Manly fingerless gloves with cable

The cable doesn’t show very well in this picture but they are simple 6 stitch affairs.

Anyhow, I was using the fudge method actively but Eunny Jang’s How To clip on Knitting Daily:  today’s video blew the plan to shreds.  I’ve had to process the fact that my knit was not quite conventional… yea.  I finally saw the light, and now see the simplicity of my mistake.  I think this may account for the tightness of my knitting too.  With this breakthrough, I may even get somewhat less awkward trying to left hand the yarn aka continental knitting.  That’s a knack I’ve not got yet:)  Oh, and when I grow up, I want to be like Eunny.

Author: iriegemini

Lara is originally from Jamaica, living in the Greater Toronto Area with N, and a cat, Melvin. She knits, spins, weaves, and is a chatterbox on all of the above. Lara's journey began as a young girl with her Grandmother's cross-stitch embroidery stash & blessing.

Leave a Reply

