The Knit Knack's Blog

Better living through fibre

And on other needles…

Leave a comment

Yoga was pretty good:)  Mad rush of self-esteem in a beginner’s class!

I am responsible for the design flaws in this one & cannot cast blame on anyone else.  This scarf started life as a gift for Ms. Mittens.  It’s Noro Silk Garden, and was to be a match for the fingerless gloves she was first gifted.  It’s edged with the Sea Foam pattern from Nicky Epstein’s “Knitting beyond the Edge” http://www.nickyepstein.com/node/7 and has a zig zag eyelet throughout.  The stitches are great but the sides are curling, and I wanted to give her a warmish scarf.  Ms. Mittens got Puff, and I have this much in train:

Noro Silk Garden scarfette

Noro Silk Garden scarfette

See the curling after the sea foam edge?  With Spring on its way, I’m now getting the vibe to mount a defence against the curling.  I have an idea but the peg bag fiasco is an open wound, so I’ll be taking care not to go crazy with the fixer-upper ideas again…  See, I may be mad with Debbie Bliss for not fitting peg bag to wooden hangers but I’m big enough to admit bending a drycleaner’s hanger wasn’t my brightest moment…

It’s labeled ‘scarfette’ because I’m short on yarn.  I’ve gone 1 of 2 skeins, and it’s apparent that this baby should not aspire to knotting or tying of any kind.  Now, I got it recently from a LYS, and they probably still have an extra skein.  But truth be told, I am waaay over-budget on yarn/ discretionary spending.   So, a pin will do, and scarfette it shall become.

Oh, and yes, I did finish the first Norwegian mitten.  Thumb and all.  It’s a bit, shall we say, snug.  I am itching to cast on for the left mitten but I wasn’t up to sitting at the table for long stretches after yoga class no. 1…  Hopefully, arnica will help me through this return to exercise!

Tomorrow, I am having lunch with someone, and fully expect it will be awkward from start to finish.  I’ll wear my handknit socks for moral support:)  Wish me luck!

Author: iriegemini

Lara is originally from Jamaica, living in the Greater Toronto Area with N, and a cat, Melvin. She knits, spins, weaves, and is a chatterbox on all of the above. Lara's journey began as a young girl with her Grandmother's cross-stitch embroidery stash & blessing.

Leave a Reply

