The Knit Knack's Blog

Better living through fibre

Get er Done – AFTER

Leave a comment

It took a trip to the LYS over yonder & full use of my obsessive skills but I got ‘er done!  Instead of plodding on with the zig-zag lace body, I decided to look again for a workable stitch.  The Noro Silk Garden just could never look lacy on those needles even if I managed to unfurl the edges:)  Acceptance is a wonderful thing & I ripped it all back to the sea foam border.

Third time’s the charm!  I went with a waffle stitch, which has lots of body.  The 2 skein plan would have left me with a hand towel, so up to yonder LYS I went.  There was another rip-back thanks to a sleepy attempt at sea foam border No. 2.  Here’s the lovely Coral Seas Spring Scarf:Coral Seas Spring Scarf - blocked & all!

The waffle stitch reminds me of our coral sea cliffs back home, especially on the Negril West End.  Man, do I wanna go to Ne-gril:)  It was an easy repeat that also blends in the colour changes in the yarn.  The edges did curl but the over-night blocking & steam ironing have opened it up.  Whether or not, she will go inwards again, I can’t say…

We are going out this evening & so, I get to test her!  It was nice to have a little race to get ‘er done.  Thanks to TCA & fingers are still crossed for the handsome reward…

Friday’s lunch was, as expected, awkward.  People can be so funny in this life.  I’m cool with it all though.

Author: iriegemini

Lara is originally from Jamaica, living in the Greater Toronto Area with N, and a cat, Melvin. She knits, spins, weaves, and is a chatterbox on all of the above. Lara's journey began as a young girl with her Grandmother's cross-stitch embroidery stash & blessing.

Leave a Reply

