The Knit Knack's Blog

Better living through fibre

Less knitting when social

Leave a comment

Each year I get a touch of the Spring fever.  Everything seems doable, including setting and keeping social dates.  The fever is upon me… dinners are snazzier, the house is fully vacuumed & almost fully dusted, etc.  So at the end of the day I’m tuckered out, i.e. more likely to snooze on the couch than knit.  That said, the new sock has been touring the GTA with me, and is a little longer – at 6″ now.  Norwegian mitt is getting a little left behind in all this excitement but I have shared on Ravelry about the Epic First Fair Isle Attempt.

Ravelry, for those not in the know, is a beta knit & crochet community.  I actually wonder when the beta phase ends & offical phase begins because it seems pretty a-ok to me.  I’m Irieknit on Ravelry, and am in a group-joining/ forum-seeking stage.  My notebook (where you post the glorious finished projects, and such) is pretty sparse at the moment but I’m working on it…

As an aside… once upon a time, I caved and made Hubby a pair of socks.  They are giant woolen black socks that he was too afraid to wear at first but now loves.  Yesterday, in my fit of spring cleaning, I took all handknit socks for a wash.  Having carried on a little badly about the never-ending sock knitting/ expensive yarn choice, I actually forgot how huge they really are.  The bespoke socks shall be photographed and added… but they need to dry first!

Author: iriegemini

Lara is originally from Jamaica, living in the Greater Toronto Area with N, and a cat, Melvin. She knits, spins, weaves, and is a chatterbox on all of the above. Lara's journey began as a young girl with her Grandmother's cross-stitch embroidery stash & blessing.

Leave a Reply

