The Knit Knack's Blog

Better living through fibre

Time flies

Leave a comment

It’s hard to believe we are at month-end, and that Easter is around the corner – where is the time going?  The second half of this week has felt very airy and unstructured.  On Wednesday, I got sick of my own company, screwed up some courage, and went to my LYS for their ‘sit & knit’ afternoon.  I know & like them but it’s a new thing for me to knit with anyone.  I’m glad that I went.  The ladies were surprised to see me but soon picked their jaws up from the floor.  I was surprised to see the store so busy, and liked observing the people & getting feedback on my own sock improvisation.  They were great, and I’ll go back again if I can.

As for the sock, the improvisation is to use left-over sock yarn on the heels and toes.  It’s a thicker yarn than the main one, and I figured a way to compensate.  Having done 1 heel, I’m minded to rip back, and do-over plain.  I’m worried that it looks weird but also that the yarns will wear unevenly…  While I give that a think, I’ll be returning to the oft-spoken-of Norwegian mitten.

Yesterday was pretty groovy as well.  I went in for an early doctor’s appointment, and got through in no time.  I wafted on downtown, and found my hairdresser (follicle engineer?) was idle.  That made for appointment no. 2 of the day.  Unsightly roots be-gone!  That was followed by lunch, and before I could pull the sock from my enviro-sak (yeah, still waiting for the Lady B bag – double hint to Br9ther dearest!) a friend calls to say they are off work early, would I like to have coffee?  That just flowed into dinner, yoga class, and interesting phone calls.  With all this “life” happening, I missed American Idol, and am itching to knit something terrible.  Oh, and it was a half-class, so my tight shoulders got discovered by our teacher.  Numerous corrections later, I am feeling sluggish.

ETA – My friend complimented the new spring scarf.  I did say I’d take a commission…

Today’s eaten up now too.  The kitchen floor is crying out for the mop, so I better go take care of that.  Hopefully, at some point, I’ll settle back down and get my knitting on.

p.s.  I didn’t win yarn in the givaway this week.  Congrats to those who did – it looks v. v. yummy:)  Still happy to have entered.

Author: iriegemini

Lara is originally from Jamaica, living in the Greater Toronto Area with N, and a cat, Melvin. She knits, spins, weaves, and is a chatterbox on all of the above. Lara's journey began as a young girl with her Grandmother's cross-stitch embroidery stash & blessing.

Leave a Reply

