The Knit Knack's Blog

Better living through fibre

New on needles

Leave a comment

My new project is the Jasmine Cardigan for Franny’s we-hope-it’s-a-girl bump.  It’s a Louisa Harding pattern from her “Natural Knits for Babies and Moms” book (Interweave).  It’s pink right now, so here’s to hoping:)

The LYS didn’t have an organic equivalent to the recommended dk 80% wool; 20% cotton yarn.  I am keeping it math simple, and went for a non-organic sub in the same gauge:  Sirdar’s Baby Bamboo.  It’s given to split stitches, but is otherwise very easy on the hands.  I’ve knitted up the back, and am working on the sleeves:

So tiny – I’m making it for 3 months.  This is my first baby garment, so my fingers are crossed.   She’s due in early June, so if this flops I’ll have time to whip up a cot blankie, right?  I have to run but will post a pic of the sock, which is also new on my needles.

Author: iriegemini

Lara is originally from Jamaica, living in the Greater Toronto Area with N, and a cat, Melvin. She knits, spins, weaves, and is a chatterbox on all of the above. Lara's journey began as a young girl with her Grandmother's cross-stitch embroidery stash & blessing.

Leave a Reply

