The Knit Knack's Blog

Better living through fibre

Baby cardigan shapes up

Leave a comment

It’s F1 season again.  I’ve come to F1 honestly… in that I married my father.  He does not look a thing like my father but there you go, I found a match!  I manage the racing cheerfully for a couple of reasons:

(a) ex-boyfriend’s passion was American football, so this looks good; and

(b) knitting makes it all so much better.

So, with F1 setting the agenda, the baby cardigan is shaping up.  The yarn seems to have taken to the wet blocking but I won’t really know until it’s unpinned:

After giving the pattern’s lace edging a go, I thought it was too fussy for this yarn.  I frogged that, and found a perfect substitue in Nicky Epstein’s lifesaver of a book, “Knitting Beyond the Edge.”  The repeat keeps it simple enough for the bamboo, and with just 4 rows it’s easy to memorize.  It’s her ‘Alice’s Drawstring Lace’:

I also did the edging for one sleeve but the past 2 days have been taken up with working on our hair-brained plan to renovate the powder room.

We’ve lived with some terrible wallpaper for over 3 years now.  The wallpaper of blessed memory was silver flowers on a pastel pink & blue background.  It didn’t go without a fight, and we are working against an Easter deadline.  For, I invited 8 family members for dinner.  I should add that I have no painting or other DIY experience, and am hopelessly clueless.  Hubby is equally lost.  So!  Days of scraping, and wall-patching are behind us.  The trim and ceiling are looking spiffy.  Working around a pedestal sink, and the toilet, I managed to apply primer yesterday.  It was wallpaper on the top, fake chair-rail, and then grey/blue on the bottom.  The top is passable but way too much of the grey-blue is showing still.  Oh, and let’s just say the dinner isn’t being catered 🙂  Wish me luck, please.

Author: iriegemini

Lara is originally from Jamaica, living in the Greater Toronto Area with N, and a cat, Melvin. She knits, spins, weaves, and is a chatterbox on all of the above. Lara's journey began as a young girl with her Grandmother's cross-stitch embroidery stash & blessing.

Leave a Reply

