The Knit Knack's Blog

Better living through fibre

Not yet afflicted

Leave a comment

It was down to the wire with our preparations but we turned out a pretty good Easter lunch.  It was great to have the house full of company, and they also came bearing gifts!  Our blue mountain coffee stash is dangerously low, so the bag was much appreciated!  Our actual ask was for our traditional Easter bun.  It’s available in some areas of the GTA but as far as I know, not where we live.  Not only did we have bun but my cousin brought some Tastee cheese.  The makers of Tastee claim that during Easter, a kilo of cheese is eaten per person in the island… that number may be on the high side but it’s the only cheddar for our ‘bun & cheese’.  It’s a uniquely soft orange cheddar.

Going into the day we had 2 major worries – first was finishing the Great Powder Room Project; second was our guest-adverse dog, Toby.  He is famous for fixating on one male guest in any group, and going berserk.  The last time all my Uncle had to do was set foot over the threshold, and Toby was in a fit of barking, and lunging.  So for days, Hubby asked ominously, “What are you doing with the dog?”  I wasn’t about to chain him outside in 7 degree weather, and he wasn’t about to put him in a kennel, so we thought Toby would be a huge issue.  Ha!  Seems my ideas – talk to the dog; walk the dog; transition guests through door without doorbell going – all worked 🙂  Joy of joys, it seems Toby is reformed.  So much so that my Uncle had to ask what kind of higher-order training the dog had been through!  Toby wasn’t too fond of cuz’s boyfriend but it was mild – very mild.

The powder room did also behave itself but that was one project that didn’t want to end…  The paint.  Well, it is what it is.  Naturally, the 2nd coat didn’t tone it down one bit.  I’ve made my peace with the colour, and Hubby’s joy is unabated.  We did have a raft of other set-backs though.  Who’d a thunk that drilling a hole for the towel ring would cave a 1/2″ deep hole in the wall?  Thanks to the former owners for not filling that…  Other holes needed patching over the window.  Our idea of hanging the curtains outside the trim wasn’t to be.  A couple other fixes later we did manage to fix it up.  Remind me never to do that again…

As for the food, it was all good.  I was speaking with a lady I sort-0f know early last week about hosting this year, etc.  Her first question was, “Where are you getting the food?”  I almost answered, “The supermarket,” but realized that truthful or not, it would have been the rude thing to say.  In a great leap of maturity I quietly said that I supposed I would rustle it up myself.  I kept to traditional Jamaicany dishes – baked smoked ham; rice & peas; candied sweet potatoes with apples;  cheese and trees, etc.  Everyone loved the apps – ackee and cheese-filled tarts.  My favourite was the brownies with spiked (brandy) sour cream icing.  Cuz supplied a broccoli marinated salad that was great too.

I’m also v. grateful for all the ladies’ help clearing up.  Lord knows I had no steam left for handling that chore on my own…

I am looking forward to getting back to the baby cardi.  The other night, I searched the pattern on Ravelry and saw all the finished projects.  I also scratched the itch in terms of the Sirdar Baby Bamboo not being grand for a garment.  I have a feeling it will all be fine.  The pictures were reassuring but also what people are saying about it for garments.  It’s a small adjustment back from the domestic work but I’ll be toting the needles back to their rightful place in the couch again v. soon…  I’m not a clutter-free kind of person for long anyhow.

This afternoon I stumbled accross Anand Giridharadas on CPac (Canadian C-Span).  He was speaking in Ottawa at the India Lecture Series.  Never heard of it.  Never heard of him.  He is a columnist for the International Herald Tribune, and he seems to have been there on April 2nd.  His talk was, “The Slumdog Effect:  Afflict the Comfortable.”  It was astonishing – someone young & good-looking on CPac?  He spoke well in what I took to be an Ivy League way but also, openly.  He did not afflict me.  In fact, many of the things he described about Indian society would apply equally in Jamaica, and I imagine, other developing nations in the Commonwealth.  His arguments were not pat, and I found them very intriguing.

In terms of being open, he spoke of his parents who migrated to America from India.  By extension he alluded to his experience as a first-generation American with family ties in India.  I was surprised when he (a working print journalist) said that he gets paid to meet one-on-one to meet with people, learning their actual reality.  He said that no newspaper would ever carry that reality.  What did he say?  That what’s happening is not news that is fit to print?  Or – what I heard – that policies and journalistic conventions keep raw news from us?  Chalk it up to my overactive imagination but I think that’s what the cameraperson heard too.  We got a shot of the audience just after he gave us to understand.  They sure had some interesting expressions.  Colour me a new fan of Anand Giriharadas.  Although I have strong opinions about the first book on his reading roll – V.S. Naipaul’s “A House for Mr. Biswas.”

Author: iriegemini

Lara is originally from Jamaica, living in the Greater Toronto Area with N, and a cat, Melvin. She knits, spins, weaves, and is a chatterbox on all of the above. Lara's journey began as a young girl with her Grandmother's cross-stitch embroidery stash & blessing.

Leave a Reply

