The Knit Knack's Blog

Better living through fibre

Mini Yarn Crawl

Leave a comment

I did my first yarn crawl of West Queen West, yesterday.  Typically, I just head straight to Lettuce Knit in Kensington Market when in Toronto.  It’s still a great store – no complaints here.  I just got the yen to explore.  I had a sketchy idea of things, so decided to walk.  About a year ago my old boss gushed about Romni’s and I had a vauge idea it was around Bathurst.  I also had the street addy of Knit Cafe.  It was a long, sometimes brisk walk.  Lunch was seeming like a problem until I noticed Pat’s Restaurant.  The people were great, and the food was authentic Jamaican.  The tamarind balls were sweet!

Romni’s is by far the biggest yarn store I’ve been to.  No pretensions and floor-to-rafters stock.  It took me a while to even adjust to what I was seeing.  At first I thought there must be filler or acryllics.  Wrong!  The scope was jaw-dropping.  The book section alone had me for many minutes.  Moving through the stacks, I realized what I was looking at – good yarn.  Better in some cases than I’ve seen before.  In every conceivable colourway.  That’s when I got the idea they might have a match for my lone hank of Colinette.  I managed to choke back the other ideas…  Moving away from the wool roving was difficult.  They even have silk roving – wow.  Camel yarn anyone?

I managed to crack up one of the store staff.  He asked me what my accent was.  Hilarious, eh?

Of course in all that warehousing I found my Colinette: –

Colinette Iona in Dusk - perfect match for my stray hank!

Colinette Iona in Dusk - perfect match for my stray hank!

I managed to leave with only this baby.  Then I kept on in search of Knit Cafe in the just-one-more-block mentality.  It was a bit underwhelming at first.  The yarn selection looked spare against the white & very high walls.  It felt unfinished as well.  The space under the sink/ prep area was open, full garbage bins and all.  I had a latte (over $3.50!), and am glad I stayed to knit.  The concept is excellent, and the yarn selection was actually quite good.  I was thrilled to see they carry Peace Fleece, and liked the store samples of projects.  Kristin showed me the most darling EZ Baby Surprise jacket, and I left with this:

Elizabeth Zimmermanns Kniting Workshop from the Knit Cafe

Elizabeth Zimmermann's "Kniting Workshop" from the Knit Cafe

My shrug is coming along as well:

Wedding Guest Shrug on April 30th

Wedding Guest Shrug on April 30th

I have a sneaking suspicion it may end up looking like an over-sized doily…

Lace Detail of Wedding Guest Shrug

Lace Detail of Wedding Guest Shrug

Do NOT want to frog again but the stripey effect will be vertical on my back.  Last thing I want is for it to clash with the dress.  See where thinking takes you?!  I’ll let you know…

Author: iriegemini

Lara is originally from Jamaica, living in the Greater Toronto Area with N, and a cat, Melvin. She knits, spins, weaves, and is a chatterbox on all of the above. Lara's journey began as a young girl with her Grandmother's cross-stitch embroidery stash & blessing.

Leave a Reply

