The Knit Knack's Blog

Better living through fibre

Good knitting thanks to EZ

Leave a comment

In reading/ entering Elizabeth Zimmermann’s Knitting Workshop, I realized this all-over tight lace was not a shrug but a kind of doiley.  On page 112 she writes about designing lace shawls:

MUCH DEPENDS on the color and wight you want for your shawl.  You may work a shawl in any way you please; the looser you knit, the larger and lacier the shawl will be.  If you work tightly, you end up with a kind of doiley.

My dresser is doiley-free, and I’ll be damned if I am going to wear one myself – expensive yarn or no!

With EZ’s honesty, I discovered this tight stuff would make a good sleeve.  So, I got away with no frogging.  I studied my Knits Spring 09 issue & now have a looser back body:

Wedding Guest Shrug back body

Wedding Guest Shrug back body

I’ve gone up to 4.5 mm needles, and used Kristin Omdahl’s Lily of the Valley panel with the balance in openwork lace.  I am thinking about a crochet edging.  Of course I am!  May need a How to Crochet tutorial or three but that’s the thought banging in my head now.

Author: iriegemini

Lara is originally from Jamaica, living in the Greater Toronto Area with N, and a cat, Melvin. She knits, spins, weaves, and is a chatterbox on all of the above. Lara's journey began as a young girl with her Grandmother's cross-stitch embroidery stash & blessing.

Leave a Reply

