The Knit Knack's Blog

Better living through fibre

Knitting to distraction

Leave a comment

My shrug has grown a bit, and needs one last repeat of the Lily of the Valley motif to finish off the back body.  To be honest, I have been preoccupied this week.  Housework; fretting about the future; sleeping off a virus; and spending a lot of time on Ravelry.

I typed out a whole analogy between Ravelry fora and case law.  Then deleted it as rubbish!  The general point was that I’ve taken to searching for answers to my burning questions instead of sticking to the current thread-stream.  For example, I wanted to know more about blocking this silk yarn.  Old threads say it’s fine to block but be careful because silk keeps its shape once pulled.  I also got invited to a pub knitting group in the area, which is cool.  I’ve never been exactly shy but this is a group that regularly meets, and I am the newbie who will be needing to fast for a blood test!  Better to go this month when I am free than to procrastinate…  I’m also planning on going back to visit Spun today.  During their business hours…  Some of the pub people also seem to do Spun’s Friday Sit ‘n Knit.  I’m thinking of going this week.  Assumption being I am more social when blood sugar is at normal levels!

On another random note… Hubby got sent home yesterday for coughing at work.  He’s working at home.  I sure hope it’s not Swine H1N1 Flu.  I also had a trace of a cough earlier this week, and felt exhausted.  It hasn’t developed into flulike symptoms at all but I have stayed in this week.

The other day, I wrote about my friend harshing my orchid-keeping mel.  Two blooming in April are joy worthy.  Hell, two blooming anytime are joy worthy…

April blooming Phalenopsis Orchids

April blooming Phalenopsis Orchid

These Phals are living up to their reputation as the easist orchids to grow at home.  They are in our kitchen window & have been going strong since December.  Gotta love that!  Hubby gave me a red Oncidium that’s in the left corner of the window.  Her name is Pippi, and she’s alive & well.

Author: iriegemini

Lara is originally from Jamaica, living in the Greater Toronto Area with N, and a cat, Melvin. She knits, spins, weaves, and is a chatterbox on all of the above. Lara's journey began as a young girl with her Grandmother's cross-stitch embroidery stash & blessing.

Leave a Reply

