The Knit Knack's Blog

Better living through fibre

Shrug Saga and then some

Leave a comment

I’m out of the hard-core lacy bit of my Shrug.  After all those ‘knots’ for the Lily of the Valley borderthe sleeve’s basic 4 stitch repeat for just 4 rows was sweet.  Too sweet.  The eyelets were decidedly leaned to the right.  As in not matching the left sleeve.  Grr.  I swallowed hard & ever-so carefully frogged it back down to:

Shrug Love

Shrug Love

Even without blocking, I like the panel’s effect.  I may be scheming to add an edging.  Then again I may not be.

I had a lovely, warm summery day.  A highlight was finally visiting Spun Fibre Arts in Burlington.  The space is well-organized and warm.  She has much of the same stock as my other LYSs but with some interesting additions on the luxury end.  For example, camel,baby camel and Araucania’s sugar cane yarn, Ruca.  I noticed hand-spun yarn as well as a selection of roving, and hand felting tools.  Maybe I’ll go to her Sit ‘n Knit sometime.

My fears about the Baby Cardigan are in full swing.  I’m worried about the dusty pink.  My friends aren’t too sure it’s a girl & she did ask for a non-girly colour.  So many Mothers are anti-pink…  She’s 3 weeks shy of her due date.  Here’s the substitute – I even have another friend in mind who it would be perfect for (in case) –

Baby Gift Take 2?

Baby Gift Take 2?

As for my earlier soapbox post – the trustworthy folks at Flora2000 obliged by taking my order.  At least MIL will be able to have some flowers this year.

Author: iriegemini

Lara is originally from Jamaica, living in the Greater Toronto Area with N, and a cat, Melvin. She knits, spins, weaves, and is a chatterbox on all of the above. Lara's journey began as a young girl with her Grandmother's cross-stitch embroidery stash & blessing.

Leave a Reply

