The Knit Knack's Blog

Better living through fibre

Taming the Silk Lace

Leave a comment

My shrug is knitted!  We had an hour to kill before seeing Star Trek in IMAX, yesterday & I got in a few repeats of the ‘little fountain’ lace pattern.  The movie was fierce IMHO.  Spock, Spock and Spock!  Scotty showed good sense with lovely knits too.

Here’s the (rechristened) shrug – pinned into submission:

Tender is the Night, wet & pinned

Tender is the Night, wet & pinned

The other name was too literal & I’ve strayed a long way from the original “Reading in Bed” pattern.  I blocked her wet but it was only a quick dip in a little water, and pressing in 2 big towels.  She’s taken every last pin in the house.  The openwork yarn-overs are fairly uniform and I won’t mind if they aren’t all gridded out.  See my 3 naked pin cushions?  They are huddling for warmth.

I concentrated on making the edges & back border even:

Same shrug with zoom

Same shrug with zoom

As I read online, the lace grew alarmingly in blocking.  I’ll have to fit her before seaming.  Speaking of fitting… I am not exactly sure how one gets an inelastic silk shrug on & off.  Please tell me this is not all for naught!!

This took less than half of the hank, so I can make something else with this beauty.  Nothing immediate in the works since I want to get back to the baby gift(s).  I am thinking of using the new lime Sirdar Snuggly Bamboo for a hat & bootie set.  The cardi was probably much too much… I’m not that tight with the parents.  I know of a still-secret baby who I can fawn over!  Nooooo – NOT OURS!

Happy Mother’s Day if applicable!  My Momma is happy by the beach, and MIL is also taking it easy but in town.

Author: iriegemini

Lara is originally from Jamaica, living in the Greater Toronto Area with N, and a cat, Melvin. She knits, spins, weaves, and is a chatterbox on all of the above. Lara's journey began as a young girl with her Grandmother's cross-stitch embroidery stash & blessing.

Leave a Reply

