The Knit Knack's Blog

Better living through fibre

Birthday love or converting the fam

Leave a comment

Mamacita came up for my birthday & what a week we’ve had!  Toby for one has been in 7th heaven with all the attention, and I got spoiled rotten.   For all the lovely treats this gift was the best:  a sweater’s-worth of yarn!  It’s the same colour of our (now fading) clematis:

Blue Sky Alpacas Silk & clematis petals

Blue Sky Alpacas Silk & clematis petals.

It was pouring rain but she insisted we go to a Toronto YS for my gift.  No brainer for me – Lettuce Knit!  Now Mom is not a crafty soul.  She’s the consumate intellectual.  Knitting (and mine in particular) perplexes her no end.  So you have to understand this gift was an act of love.  I’m not exactly the swiftest of foot in a YS.  She had a look, and then just quietly stood by the door as I did my thing.

These 8 skeins are gonna become Connie Chang Chinchcio’s Silk Cocoon Cardigan:

Knits Spring 09 pattern spread for Cocoon cardi

Knits' Spring '09 pattern spread for Cocoon cardi

I’m cardigan challenged, so the wrap construction is right up my alley.  I figure it’ll be great for the fall.  The yarn is equal parts alpaca & silk – both are warm and cozy.

Reading Knitty last week had me itching for some Jennie the Potter goodness.  Hubby was open to my gift idea but had a pained look that said he had a cunning plan already.  Now, LK was out of the coveted mugs but I grabbed this:

Red Knit pendant, Jennie the Potter

Red Knit pendant, Jennie the Potter

Please don’t think less of me for that wall colour.  I didn’t paint it!  Yes, it’s gotta go!  Just using for contrast in the pic.

Author: iriegemini

Lara is originally from Jamaica, living in the Greater Toronto Area with N, and a cat, Melvin. She knits, spins, weaves, and is a chatterbox on all of the above. Lara's journey began as a young girl with her Grandmother's cross-stitch embroidery stash & blessing.

Leave a Reply

