The Knit Knack's Blog

Better living through fibre

Full day ahead

Leave a comment

Eden’s baby kimono is wrapped & ready to go!  She’s 3 weeks old now, and I’m hoping to go meet her this afternoon.  Of course, I’m pretty nervous about this but no backing out now… I did my best on this one.

I took the pic out on our back patio.  The poinsettia was from this Christmas but the other pots are newly planted.  All part of the Beautification Project.  There’s a growing clamour for us to throw a BBQ this summer & well, it is summer now.  The tall terra cotta pot has 6 or 7 mint plants that were supermarket-bought sprigs who smiled on my efforts.  Auntie G the Master Gardener has advised, and hopefully they will fill out the pot soon.  As for what I’d do with so much mint?  Not too sure!  The patio table is also full of my other containers.  Quite proud of this all.  Two paragraphs later… the picture:

Edens baby kimono - wrapped & in good company

Eden's baby kimono - wrapped & in good company

Tonight’s also Knit Night at the Pub.  It’s interesting to be in any post-high-school group much less a group of knitters.  The shorty socks are still where they were at my last posting (more or less) but I’m taking the birthday yarn.   The pattern calls for a fraction in the gauge.  Try as I might, I couldn’t get it exact.  I have 26 stitches per 4″ rather than 25.5 stitches.  Been down this sweater road enough times to know that will make a difference.

Here’s where it’s at.  The edge is curling.  I do like the Blue Sky Alpaca Silk yarn very much.  The skein’s label says, “polished sheen & sumptuous handle.”  It’s pretty cool but that may be overstating it a tad.    For tonight, it’s a good take-along.  Just plain stockinette stitch with some shaping to be done now.

First bit of Cocoon Cardi - yes, it curls.

First bit of Cocoon Cardi - yes, it curls.

Also shown are my 2 fav stitch markers.  The sheep is from Knitty’s store & the blue bead is from Lettuce Knit.  Makers unknown.

Author: iriegemini

Lara is originally from Jamaica, living in the Greater Toronto Area with N, and a cat, Melvin. She knits, spins, weaves, and is a chatterbox on all of the above. Lara's journey began as a young girl with her Grandmother's cross-stitch embroidery stash & blessing.

Leave a Reply

