The Knit Knack's Blog

Better living through fibre

Accidents happen

Leave a comment

Tennis got the better of me on Friday.  I took a nasty fall on the court.  There I was running then reaching for the ball, I must have jumped.  Nice twist mid-air, and I came crashing down on the right ankle.  Ouch!  It’s totally sprained.  I managed the walk home, stubborn ox that I am but have been laid-up since.

DH has been great – making & serving meals; wrapping the foot (with & without moans); dispensing sprain wisdom, etc.  The other person in our house is Toby the dog, aka DP.  He’s very, very concerned.  Perturbed even.  It’s the sight of me hopping about that seems to distress him the most.  I am happy to say the Tobester has barely budged from his bedside station all weekend.

Neither DH nor DP was happy when I hop-tripped & fell last night.  D__n skirt!  It was all good though – I had enough sense to fall on my left side.  Thankfully it’s getting better now.  I can put some weight on the foot, and most of the swelling has gone down.  It’s just sore & bruised.  I did take a pic but it’s ridiculous to post.  Just imagine a reddish, slightly swollen ankle & there you have it!

So what have I been doing?  Finished reading “Rob Roy” by Sir Walter Scott.  It’s a great read but Sir Walter wasn’t holding back on the Scottish words, sayings or lore.  It takes lots of pausing to go to his glossaries & appendices.  When downstairs, I’m knitting up the back piece of the Silk Cocoon Cardi.  It’s not showy.  Just rows of plain knitting.  Again, not quite picture-worthy.  I thought the Silk & Alpaca yarn would be a dream but it’s not exactly.  I’m undecided because rows of knit then purl are ipso facto dead boring.  Just saying.

We had to laugh – this 1 weekend when I’m out of commission, we had 3 invites for Saturday night!  One was from Eden’s parents – her baby gift seems to have gone over better than I thought!!

Author: iriegemini

Lara is originally from Jamaica, living in the Greater Toronto Area with N, and a cat, Melvin. She knits, spins, weaves, and is a chatterbox on all of the above. Lara's journey began as a young girl with her Grandmother's cross-stitch embroidery stash & blessing.

Leave a Reply

