The Knit Knack's Blog

Better living through fibre

In a day’s work

Leave a comment

I caught the year’s first-past-the-post day lily, yesterday:

First day for the lillies

I spied... in the backyard

These are escapees from next door, and I love them!

I basically spent the day at the computer, making my way down a to-do list.  Well, I may have visited a certain site that begins with R an inordinate amount of times too…

I didn’t even pick up my needles after dark.  I had 2 loooong phone calls back-to-back before dinner.  One was a hornet’s nest I stirred-up unwittingly yesterday morning.  Just amazing how we both built assumptions on the back of our different lifestyles.  It created drift but also some bad blood.  We both have SOs now & that was part of the issue, I think.  V. emo for both of us.  It’s all good now, I think.  Shortly after hanging up, my girlfriend called from the States.  We were catching-up but she was also sharing about the recent (and sudden) death of her great-aunt.

Before all of that took over, I made decent progress on the Purple Cocoon Cardi, and am well into the right front. I pushed the sock project back.  May take it back up when DH’s Mom is with us.  It will be nice to have it on the go already.  No pattern searching needed there!

Farther down in the knit queue is a challenge.  I want to turn my hand to designing again.  Nothing major but my idea is to help with my homesickness.  I want to design something Jamaican.  Crochet is the primary needlecraft on the island.  Knitting is next-to-nothing as far as I know.  For obvious tropical reasons… I want to use colour and cool stitches to  come up with something original.  It may have an organic twist too but who knows?  Still just brainstorming.  Speaking of Jamaica… my good, good GF is due this November.  Her bump is v. much in my queue.

As a random note… if I feel cooped up with the foot, Toby is 10xs cooped up.  He freaked right the h**l out yesterday when dude showed up yesterday with his v. noisy core aeration machine in our yard.  He usually will calm down but was having none of my ‘calm assertive’ energy about dude.  Today is a totally different story.  He’s not been walked.  He should be tearing around at birds or the wind but instead, he’s curled up at my foot.  Why?  I’ve been listening to Beethoven.  Who knew?  Our dog has culture!!  I heart Toby.

Author: iriegemini

Lara is originally from Jamaica, living in the Greater Toronto Area with N, and a cat, Melvin. She knits, spins, weaves, and is a chatterbox on all of the above. Lara's journey began as a young girl with her Grandmother's cross-stitch embroidery stash & blessing.

Leave a Reply

