The Knit Knack's Blog

Better living through fibre

Encourages knitting

Leave a comment

It’s happening more & more often.  Non-knitters over here in my real world tell me that they would like to pick up knitting.  But invariably these friends say it with an unsure voice and a very far away look.

So, today I’m not showing you what’s on my needles.  Here’s what’s on my fridge:

Res Ipsa Loquitur - the thing speaks for itself

Best comic ever!

That said, it is totally doable.  I was daunted, completely ignorant, and skirted around the idea for years before I actually tried to knit.

Even if people see the nice results, they still have a full conversation going on behind the wistful eyes.  I think the knitting myths have a lot to do with the holding-back.  The big myths at play are:

  1. Knitting, the time-sucker.  Sure, it takes time.  So does watching the entire American Idol competition or anything else on tv.  If you have time to listen to your ipod, you have some time to knit.  There are ways & means even for the hyper-busy.  I kept knitting while paying serious dues in the rat race, and keeping house (somewhat).  People with young children knit, and still manage to have lives.
  2. Knitters are lonely, home-bound people. Contrary to popular belief, we knitters do have places to go & people to see.  Life won’t pass you by.  I promise.  Some of my best knitting was done commuting on the Go-train, or where ever.  Knit at home or abroad – it’s your choice.
  3. Knitters are an artsy-fartsy bunch. What, this blog doesn’t dispel that myth?!?  Engineers, IT geeks, and math brains knit, design, and generally innovate.  It’s a diverse community.  In & among the folksy stuff, there’s the modern and cutting-edge.  For every pop culture movement out there, a knitting niche already exists.  Just come as you are!
  4. It’s all Greek. It kind-of is but only at first.  No matter if you learn you core skills by DVD, YouTube, pestering knitters, taking classes, books, it will be super awkward and baffling.  Only at first.  Soon the ridiculous yarn loops start to look like something.  And that is a very cool thing.

As for my cardigan… I have a body for it now!  The thing is that I may have to re-do the front left.  It feels like a pattern flaw.  Did the tech editors at Interweave Knits miss something?  The problem is that the tops of the front pieces do not match.  They should be mirror images.  I did the left side first, and found that the middle sloping cut in too deep – I was short 10 stitches.  Fudged.  On the right side, I knew to stop cutting in.  Not fudged.  In the FO, it might show pretty badly.

I’ll have to get back to you on that…

Author: iriegemini

Lara is originally from Jamaica, living in the Greater Toronto Area with N, and a cat, Melvin. She knits, spins, weaves, and is a chatterbox on all of the above. Lara's journey began as a young girl with her Grandmother's cross-stitch embroidery stash & blessing.

Leave a Reply

