The Knit Knack's Blog

Better living through fibre

Sock Seduction

Leave a comment

Slight change in plans.  To account for conditions on the ground, I got in touch with my inner sock knitter.

{Aside:  aren’t houseguests fun?}

Which is to say, my Purple Cocoon Cardi is on hiatus, and my Seduction Sock pattern by Ann Budd is out & in use again.  It’s been awhile, so if you are interested the pattern is free here with others.  Now at the foot, my sock:

Shorty Seduction Sock at the foot

Shorty Seduction Sock at the foot

The grass does need to be cut!

This is my 5th sock project, so I am still very much the novice.  It’s also my first stab at doing socks with a pattern.  I really would recommend it to any knitter.  As you can see, it’s not stitch-fancy or overdone.  It’s twisting with eyelets, and is easy to grasp as well as remember.  I have yet to want to make a pair of elaborate socks.  I do want to learn different modes of sock construction though.  I’d definitely try another Ann Budd design.  At any rate, this one is a great step-up from plain socks, and gives such a subtly pretty effect.  The mystery NY yarn is also adding to the glee.

Since the yarn is a total mystery, I can’t add to the stash.  Meaning, the sock needle is the stash.  The ball is running low, so I may have to go back on my word & rip, rip, rip it… 😦

Author: iriegemini

Lara is originally from Jamaica, living in the Greater Toronto Area with N, and a cat, Melvin. She knits, spins, weaves, and is a chatterbox on all of the above. Lara's journey began as a young girl with her Grandmother's cross-stitch embroidery stash & blessing.

Leave a Reply

