The Knit Knack's Blog

Better living through fibre

Breaking out

Leave a comment

By the time the weekend rolled around, I was dying to get out of the house.  11 days straight at home?!  Scream!  It took some doing but I did get out both Sat & Sun.

The 1st Seduction Sock is finished.  Woo hoo!  Cool enough to get praise from MIL is what… and it could pass for a FO thanks to the infernal boot cast!

A pair!  Left Shorty Seduction sock & boot cast...

A pair! Left Shorty Seduction sock & boot cast...

The last big set of rounds were done in public.  DH kindly took his Mom shopping.  He Hates shopping.  I went along for the ride, and settled into a comfy leather chair at the Mall.  My working needle snapped on the way over.  I did have a usable but badly bent spare on hand.  These are thin bamboo numbers – just 2.25 mm thick.  I definitely knit socks tightly so that they are more durable.  So, my needles take a whole lot of tension from yours truly.

Typically, Canadians are too polite to stare at/ interrupt us knit geeks.  There are exceptions.  After a while, I got the feeling I was being watched.  Sure enough, a lady was standing a few feet in front of me, bent over and squinting at me.  She jerked up & scampered off without a word!  Later on, another lady made my day.  She could not get over someone knitting at a Mall!  It was nice to talk with a fellow knitter who appreciated the yarn, and pattern.

After all the good vibes, I’m well into the 2nd Seduction sock.  She has a cuff, heel, and is now getting a foot.  I’m also not short on the yarn, which is v. good.  The sock needle may get out of this unfrogged.

The Garden –  I have baby green tomatoes!  On the vine!  In my backyard!   A first:)  Here’s a pic now.  You know, in case something goes wrong.

Newly staked - green tomatoes!

Newly staked - green tomatoes!

Yes, the grass does still need to be cut.

Another 3 green tomatoes with lavendar

Another 3 green tomatoes with lavendar

With luck, I’ll have another outing before long.  Harry Potter does open this week…

Author: iriegemini

Lara is originally from Jamaica, living in the Greater Toronto Area with N, and a cat, Melvin. She knits, spins, weaves, and is a chatterbox on all of the above. Lara's journey began as a young girl with her Grandmother's cross-stitch embroidery stash & blessing.

Leave a Reply

