The Knit Knack's Blog

Better living through fibre

Fullness of Time

Leave a comment

The healing process on this ankle is moving very slowly.  Like molasses in August.  My big plan to drive over to the pub for Knit Night fell through – no pun intended.  Turns out you kind of need some strength in your foot to press the gas pedal.  The things I once took for granted…

You might expect that with all this leisure time, I would have a finished triangle shawl.  Not quite.  Thing is – I got sidetracked by nothing less than a good new book.  I had no intention of buying a book until I found myself in a mall with MIL 2 days ago.  About 10 mins in, my ankle was done with what DH calls ‘aimless wandering’.  Sit in the store while MIL shopped?  No thanks!  So I spoke up, and headed ISO a book  to read in the food court.   Came up with Three Cups of Tea by Mortenson & Relin.

I had approx. 2.5 hrs to get hooked in the food court reading.  Greg Mortenson’s story is so compelling.  It has carried me through the sometimes stiff ghost writing.  Here I am in Ontario’s suburbia, far from my own formation in the developing world, and getting farther from what I thought was my life work, the law.  I don’t think that I would have read this book in the same way 2 years ago.

The days are long/ cool enough for both a book & a shawl.  I’ve started Aestlight’s border now.  It’s an openwork pattern that the designer calls ‘bird’s eye lace.’   I had to ditch the bamboo circular  needle after the first row of lace.  The double yarnovers (they make the lace holes) were catching at the join.  Good thing I have a 4mm metal circular about the place.

The border looks like this now.  Remember – lace is never fully pretty until we block her out.

Aestlight Shawl border under construction

Aestlight Shawl border under construction

The red string of yarn is holding the ‘live’ stitches for the top edge.  What you see in the photo is the right top part of the border.  It runs down to the point of the triangle, and up the other side.  When the border is more substantial, I’ll take a picture of the whole shawl.  This design is still good knitting.

In case you are wondering about my recent photos… I’m now using DH’s Nikon D60.  Just a tad better than my Canon Power Shot!  I also want to spiffy up the pages.  All in the fullness of time, friends.

Author: iriegemini

Lara is originally from Jamaica, living in the Greater Toronto Area with N, and a cat, Melvin. She knits, spins, weaves, and is a chatterbox on all of the above. Lara's journey began as a young girl with her Grandmother's cross-stitch embroidery stash & blessing.

Leave a Reply

