The Knit Knack's Blog

Better living through fibre

Shawls it up

Leave a comment

This weekend was basically one long bout of knitting.  For one thing it was dark & stormy.  For another there was the Hungarian Grand Prix & Tour de France to be watched.  I do have something to show for it:  a fierce Aestlight shawl we like to call Bluefields!

Finished her up yesterday evening & did a quick evening out with the steam iron.  Trying not to brag now but here she is:

Please ignore the crazy lady hair in this next one… Look!  I have a wingspan!

Rocking the shawl and the knit stitch pendant:

The ends are long enough to tie at the front, which is a bonus I wasn’t expecting really.  When front-tied, here’s how she looks from the back:

I improvised as I knitted along.  The main goal was to use 2 skeins of the same yarn evenly.  The intarsia method worked wonders on the body.  Here is the wrong side but yarn carries are not pronounced:

The scallop edging is half 1 skein; half the other.  I grafted the middle scallop using Kitchener stitch, and felt pretty clever.  My only other mods were simple – cable cast-on for the edging & sewn cast-off for the top of the triangle.

What’s left of my 2 hanks of Araucania:

Can I eke out a pair of socks from this?

Can I eke out a pair of socks from this?

This is my first Sheltie shawl & a good learning experience.  That scallop edge has 16 rows to repeat, and was my least favourite element.  Inching through 279 border stitches 8 at a time was a little painful.  Especially after hours of knitting.

Technically, the pattern is very sound.  It seems strange to say this but if anything the instructions are too detailed.  I learned new things but never had a real leap of insight.  It was all laid out a bit too exactly for any of that.   At some point, I just wanted to figure stuff out, you know.

Quibbles apart, I totally love this one.  The former tom boy has another totally feminine knit to flaunt!  I must be mellowing in my old age…

Author: iriegemini

Lara is originally from Jamaica, living in the Greater Toronto Area with N, and a cat, Melvin. She knits, spins, weaves, and is a chatterbox on all of the above. Lara's journey began as a young girl with her Grandmother's cross-stitch embroidery stash & blessing.

Leave a Reply

