The Knit Knack's Blog

Better living through fibre

And we’re mobile!

Leave a comment

It’s Summer of the Sprain no more – I drove!  Last night in fact.  Just a short trip downtown and back but after a month of being grounded that short drive made all the difference.  Each day the ankle is getting stronger, and I don’t need to favour it as much when walking.

Now that I can get the heck out of the house without begging, pleading or pitching a fit, the next goal is to wear heels at my brother’s wedding in early October.  Apart from my own vanity, there are the photos to be considered.  A single vertically challenged bridesmaid would mess them up…  This happened with our bridal party, so I know all about the negative space.  See, on a good day I am 5′ 2 ½”.

Thanks to the mobility, I am back in the Midnight-blue Room.  The dining table has plenty of space but I missed my books, pictures, and everything else that I have up here.  Toby is happily snoozing.  He can’t see out of this window, which means he gives himself a break from sentinel duty.  Two other things:

  1. Knitting: I am plugging away at the last bit of the purple cardi… 2nd sleeve.  It’s almost done, and the next step is blocking it out to measurements.  That I can photograph.  Possible flaw in the front edges may hinder the program.  Time will tell!
  2. Reading: The other day, I finished Three Cups of Tea.  It ended abruptly, and important parts of the story felt unfinished.  Greg Mortenson meets his contact in Afghanistan; The End.   What happened to the school children in Pakistan?  An endnote would have been nice.  Instead, I left with a bad taste in my mouth after reading the ‘how to help in 9 simple steps’ plan.  It began compellingly with 82 children on an “open ledge 800 feet above the Braldu,” who were trying to learn.  78 of those children were boys.  The story of those boys has not been told.  The author focuses on 3 girls:  Jahan, Tahira & Shakeela.  Even those characters are lightly sketched.  For example, Shakeela apparently was a “poised and pretty” high school girl at age 15 when the author interviewed her with her father present.  It is straight question & answer that delivers her reality.  After only 7 years of primary education, she is away in a town struggling to maintain her grades.  There are other flaws but the material, and what appears to be the sheer integrity of Mr. Mortenson’s mission do carry the day; I am glad to have read this book.

Since it was Emancipation weekend, I went for Song yet Sung by James McBride, next.  It was part of my birthday parcel from the States.  Such a good read!  I actually remember reading this review when it was first out in 2008 but never did get the book.  There is trouble in the plot, and other areas but I practically inhaled it.

When you want trust, scratch a crooked line in the dirt.

Author: iriegemini

Lara is originally from Jamaica, living in the Greater Toronto Area with N, and a cat, Melvin. She knits, spins, weaves, and is a chatterbox on all of the above. Lara's journey began as a young girl with her Grandmother's cross-stitch embroidery stash & blessing.

Leave a Reply

