The Knit Knack's Blog

Better living through fibre

New on Needles and Life

Leave a comment

This week everything seemed so vivid… I bopped about the town a bit again but even the garden seemed brighter.  The sunny weather helped but it was really the extra bit of independence that made such a difference.

On Wednesday morning, I left an early appointment, and passed some time in a local Starbucks with a frappuccino.   Been there dozens of times but between the Jimmy Cliff songs & bright sunshine, it was downright zen…

I was really out to get much-needed help with my Purple Cocoon Cardigan at the Wool Bin.  I could have fudged & evened out the front tops but I had a nagging feeling that I misread the lady’s instructions.  The WB owners have set aside Wednesday afternoons for customers to sit, knit & ask questions.  I got there a few hours early but one of the owners was good enough to figure it out with me.  She agreed the instructions were convoluted but went at it line-by-line, with my knitted pieces.  Turns out that the pattern looks sound.  I only seem to have tapered the front armholes when they should be straight.  Yet again my LYSO saves the day!  Many thanks!

The WB is also in summer sale mode.  I came prepared with a new baby gift project & left with my 3rd batch of Sirdar Baby Bamboo yarn:

Back home, new to stash

Back home, new to stash

The idea is to make a 1st birthday gift for my cousin’s son, Sammy!  His birthday is the end of August, so even though it will go all the way to L.A., I still have some time.  It’s fast becoming an Oz Vest from Louisa Harding ‘s book Natural Knits for Babies & Moms.

It had this whipped on the needles by evening & took it over to Knit Night.  It was so nice to catch up with the ladies/ do something on my own again.  I also met someone new.  Of course, with all the errands, I was very tired.  After making a silly mistake, I knew that I was fading.  The others were also ready to leave around then.  The mistake is now fixed & it allowed me to make other changes:

Sammy's Vest, lower half

The lighting was bad in this photo & so, the colour is washed-out.  It really is the bright blue of the stash photo, above.

Knitting this in the round is a wee off-pattern.  I figured that the less seams for an active boy, the better… The post-mistake mod. is the striping.  The garter stripes had a ’70s feel, so I changed that to the less boring seed stitch.  Not exactly fashion-forward but I knew that going in…  I’ve also decided to make it a few inches long.  My cue on this?  At 10 months his Mother was posting that he was big enough to be Hagrid’s brother… I really do hope that it’s wide enough.

Latest in the “Man Am I Proud it’s Growing” series is a squash flower!  This plant is running amok.  I had no idea the wee seedling would get this massive.  It’s outgrown the bed, and is giving the lavender, pinks & tomatoes serious competition for space.

Weekend plans are to catch Julie & Julia at the movies,  knock out this baby gift & book our flight/ hotel for Brother Man’s wedding… not too much to ask for!

Author: iriegemini

Lara is originally from Jamaica, living in the Greater Toronto Area with N, and a cat, Melvin. She knits, spins, weaves, and is a chatterbox on all of the above. Lara's journey began as a young girl with her Grandmother's cross-stitch embroidery stash & blessing.

Leave a Reply

