The Knit Knack's Blog

Better living through fibre

Knack for Spinning? Soon come!

Leave a comment

Regards to Mr. Stephen Kundert – his red cedar over cherry whorl drop spindle came in yesterday’s mail.  This baby is pure tactile livity.  Form definitely meets function, so I have some first fruits on her.

I totally love the whorl colours, and it feels balanced to even a newbie like me.  The turned shaft is pretty but also helped me to park the operation for dinner.  Then there’s the faint cedar scent.  I could wax poetic about all of this!  The early research let me dive right in with the 5th batch of Peter Tosh the Fleece.  I had some beginner’s luck but then stopped for more online research, and had at it again.

Rustic enough for ya?!

My Pretty

And the wee cob of yarn:

Rustic enough for ya?!

Rustic enough for ya?!

I am spinning off my right thigh, which gives an ‘s’ twist single yarn.  In the heady first drafts, I was able to suspend it down but soon had a hard time pulling enough wool out of my roving (i.e. the fleece after cleaning & brushing out).  The yarn was getting more uneven & tough by the minute, so I sat down & went for the “Stupid Questions” thread in the Ravelry Spindlers group.  Bless them!  I kicked out the earlier idea of ‘pre-drafting’, & went straight to the stop & go method they call “park & draft.”

There’s plenty more ghosting of threads, websites, etc. in my future.  For all its simplicity this spindle is a technical beast.  Even some of the answers in that Stupid Questions thread were glazing my eyes over.  So after last night I basically know what I don’t know!

As for the other people in the house?   DH is stoked; his Dad is politely perplexed; and Toby is still v. taken with wool.  I am following Abbysyarns’ advice from here:

Praise yourself. Lots of people around you aren’t going to have any idea what you’re doing. They aren’t going to have any helpful feedback. They’re possibly even going to be downright weird about it. Ignore them. You are doing a difficult, amazing thing. It will come.

If you want to start down this spinning path, check out her article.  It’s now my roadmap 🙂

FIL’s visit is going surprisingly well.  He’s easygoing & dead-set on being independent.  Fine by me!  Baby Sierra’s gift no. 1 is almost done.  You can check it out in Ravelry (username:  Irieknit) but am keeping it a TKK secret for now.

I still love the feel of its worsted 100% cotton yarn, SRK Coolspun Cotton.  The flashes of blue & green gave lots of trouble though.  I had to alternate the 2 balls to finally get something less harsh/ dishclothesque.  Then I used the white for the arms on up.  So many ends to weave for such a small project!  Other issues came because I was either tired or distracted by hostess duties when knitting this.  Silly, silly, silly mistakes!  I do have left-over yarn, & an idea of what else  Sierra may get out of this!

Author: iriegemini

Lara is originally from Jamaica, living in the Greater Toronto Area with N, and a cat, Melvin. She knits, spins, weaves, and is a chatterbox on all of the above. Lara's journey began as a young girl with her Grandmother's cross-stitch embroidery stash & blessing.

Leave a Reply

