The Knit Knack's Blog

Better living through fibre

Socks as Beacons and wool puffs

Leave a comment

I am well & into my first Cookie A sock, Angee.  I swallowed the apprehension & used the ½-off-sale, very bright Colinette Jitterbug yarn.  Which makes this a project with 2 firsts:  the designer & the yarn.  In the knitting up, Jitterbug is quality stuff.  However, about ½ way into winding it into a ball, it just ended.  A clean break.  Never had that happen with my Colinette Iona.  It has me wondering if I was shorted on yardage…  The colours are amazing though:

If the top looks wide that’s because it is… apparently my calves are rather large.  Ms. Cookie A only gives her patterns with an 8″ circumference.  My school marm legs need an extra cough4″.  Adding a few stitches here & there was not going to cut it, so I had a night of arithmetic.  I needed to add 30 or so stitches.  So, I cut the pattern down to 12 stitches from 13.  With the mod, I have 8 repeats around.  This even number of repeats should simplify my heel→turn into→foot knitting.  The pattern was written with 5 repeats.

You know, I would feel better about all of this if it was due to exercise & not a certain great-grandmother’s fat leg genes.

The week with FIL is almost over.  There was talk of being treated to dinner at the Keg for his last night.  I had designs on wearing the red Hottie Hottie tank for the 1st time, and eating a steak…  Yeah, not.  DH managed to nix all eating-out plans.  He wants to bar-b-que.  I was silently sputtering, “How?  What?” at him when he pulled that one off.  Nice, dear.

We are having a beautiful run of weather.  I’ve lived in Canada long enough to know that smart people make hay while the sun shines.  This means I am racing to both get some planting done, and prep the fiber.  It’s a dusty business this wool carding.  Yesterday was all about the flick carding.  It was Toby, me and the wool.  I am sure FIL thinks that I am the oddest creature alive but so be it!

This is still the dirty & uneven last batch.  I’m guessing that it came from the ram’s flank or even his belly.  I’m slowly getting the hang of where the locks lie, and how to hold them.  Check out how the colour varies:

light, medium, dark

light, medium, dark

I really should iron the tablecloth for picture-taking!  That’s cleaned, carded & ready for spinning.

Unfortunately, I am on DIL duty today & then tomorrow will be the airport run.  What are the chances that this weather will hold out & I can get more wool cleaned & dried?

Author: iriegemini

Lara is originally from Jamaica, living in the Greater Toronto Area with N, and a cat, Melvin. She knits, spins, weaves, and is a chatterbox on all of the above. Lara's journey began as a young girl with her Grandmother's cross-stitch embroidery stash & blessing.

Leave a Reply

