The Knit Knack's Blog

Better living through fibre

October in San Fran

Leave a comment

San Francisco rocks!  It was wonderful to finally see my brother ‘in situ’, and meet everyone who is everyone in his life.  The city itself is so vibrant.  I expected the artsy, hard-core & touristy vibe but those Union Square high-end stores were a big surprise.  Made Toronto’s Yorkville look like a joke (or three).

This is a 1st run from our pics of the happy trip.  My machine has been acting up of late, so I am rushing to post before it decides to crash on me.  Getting a replacement is now priority no. 1.  I can’t tell you how many times that this workhorse has stopped dead in its tracks mid-keystroke.  So, in the interests of posting something, I’ll keep it simple for now.

Biggest take-away?  I am someone’s sister-in-law!  She was a beautiful bride, and I loved all of her other bridesmaids.  Couldn’t be more proud!  It was a great blend of traditional & their style.  She was a vision in ivory & his tux was balanced out by the very dope sneakers.  It was all expertly planned & executed.  I even liked their wedding planner, which is saying a lot.  The highlight for the reception was the live blues band.  The lead singer was a vision in red velvet.  His life partner had such a clear voice.  Even with my bruk-foot, I was out there dancing the night away (under vodka’s influence).

Brother Man picked us up from SFO & we headed for brunch.  You need mad parking skills in that city, man!

At last, a parking spot!

At last, a parking spot!

Street View

Street View

Brunch great – everyone knew their names & the waitress was a bit toooo keen on Brother Man.  Next stop was Golden Gate park.  We hit the gardens.  The plaque:
In Golden Gate park

The hokey $5 donation guilt trip:

GGdonationpyramid

Little big brother & me

Little big brother & me

Wait for it...

Wait for it...

How to feel small in this world

How to feel small in this world

Patron Saint perhaps?

Patron Saint perhaps?

All admiring this:

Until my brother notices & points to this:

Obtained from Mexico City...

"Obtained" from Mexico City... nice

Definitely Entish

Definitely Entish

GGparktreespond

The wedding was at the Legion of Honour, a working museum.  Views of the GG bridge & a golf course.  It was the perfect setting.

The Happy Couple & a the shoes

The Happy Couple - check out the shoes

Seriously good blues

Seriously good blues

My Wisp wrap & the onyx necklace:

All dressed up!

All dressed up!

In from the cold...

In from the cold...

It’s a snazzy wrap that now has a second life as a snazzy scarf.

If you remember, my neighbour made the necklace & matching earrings.  It’s her original design and my first piece of custom jewelry.  I usually wear small, light jewelry but wanted to go all out.  This necklace is so well made for me and this dress that it was a dream to wear.  Coping with all the compliments wasn’t too hard to bear!  Sonja truly worked wonders!

Sonja shows her jewelry privately as well as at craft shows.  Let me know if you would like to get in touch to see more of her work.  I’ll be happy to pass her contact info. on.  She offers a variety of styles at different price-points.  It really is good value for the quality of her materials, which she sources in Asia.

Now that I’m back home, I haven’t stopped knitting.  More to come on that front…

Author: iriegemini

Lara is originally from Jamaica, living in the Greater Toronto Area with N, and a cat, Melvin. She knits, spins, weaves, and is a chatterbox on all of the above. Lara's journey began as a young girl with her Grandmother's cross-stitch embroidery stash & blessing.

Leave a Reply

