The Knit Knack's Blog

Better living through fibre

Knits a lot

Leave a comment

First off, I owe the blog an apology.  Sorry for the spotty posting.  It can’t be helped.  My ailing laptop decided that it absolutely cannot run.  It was crashing on every re-boot, and I finally had to let it go.  We have invested in a new laptop but folks, Dell is not given to instant gratification.  My ship date is on the 17th.  Last week all of this came to a head.  It took us some time (like all week) to negotiate the share & share alike terms re:  DH’s machine.  Let’s just say I didn’t get either weeknight or weekend access to this baby.

Turns out that without a dedicated computer, I have time to clean house & knit & spin.  Amazing.  The Purple Cocoon Cardi is finally all done.  It looks better worn over a tailored shirt but here it is over my new long-sleeved tee:

Note: Not pregnant. Bump due to belt.

See, the bottom edge is rolling.  That & the ribbon yarn tie give this a decidedly hand-knit look.  The tie was my improvisation for not ever doing the 5 stitch twisted rib pattern again.  Working the twisted rib for the neckband got on my last nerve.   This one was a trial.  So when someone tells me that it looks hand-knit, I say, “Why yes it is,” with some pride.  A cardigan that fits is not an easy thing.  The wrap view (tummy sucking for this one):

And close-up on the back pattern:

Now that’s off the needles, I am back to engineering an Angee sock to fit my leg.  Big for the big calf, and back to normal proportions for the normal ankle:

I am at the toe for this 1st sock & have yarn to spare.  It’s been a pleasure because Cookie A’s Sock Innovation book gave me enough insight to tinker.  It also helps that she uses my favourite sock structure.

Balancing out all of this selfish knitting, is my newest design – a baby dress for Sierra.  She’s due in just a few weeks now.  It’s still called Sierra’s Sweetie Pie.  I tackled the knit math & wholly new elements (buttonholes).  It’s ready for wet blocking & fingers crossed this will even out the 3-strand colourwork.  If it behaves, I will be writing the pattern out for download! In the meantime, here are her matching booties.

They are from Louisa Harding’s Natural Knits for Babies & Moms Linky.   Lime is the dress’s main counter-colour.

I’m not quite there yet but do neeeed to get started on the Christmas knitting!

Author: iriegemini

Lara is originally from Jamaica, living in the Greater Toronto Area with N, and a cat, Melvin. She knits, spins, weaves, and is a chatterbox on all of the above. Lara's journey began as a young girl with her Grandmother's cross-stitch embroidery stash & blessing.

Leave a Reply

