The Knit Knack's Blog

Better living through fibre

Spin Love

Leave a comment

The entire time that we were in San Francisco, I wanted to spin.  Thanks to all of the self-imposed deadline knitting, I hadn’t touched my spindle for weeks.  It was chilling at home & I pretty much pounced as soon as we got back.

While we were still in San Fran, we stopped by the Union Square Borders.  DH wasn’t into the yarn crawl idea.  He was a pretty good sport about the unending family fun, so I caved.  The bookstore was a happy compromise.  Borders buried the crafts section way up on the top floor against the far wall.  It was mostly the usual suspects on the shelves, so I was happy to find a new title – Lisa Lloyd’s A Fine Fleece.  It’s amazing!  Not only does it have many great patterns for hand spun yarn but she gives commercial substitutes as well.  Perfect – sweaters take alot of yardage!  It’s also beautiful & is on our coffee table.

Most people in my life are mystified by me wanting to spin yarn.  Want to loose people in a conversation?  Talk about cleaning raw wool & spindles, etc.  Eyes glaze over in seconds!  I understand.  It’s kind of fun to see the reactions, actually.  There’s no convincing the pipsqueaks of this world.

My post-San Fran skein:

It is thinner than the first attempt for sure.  I have yet to measure wraps per inch or use it for knitting.  For now, I am concentrating on spinning a usable stash from Peter Tosh the fleece.  I have single plys sitting around but the spindle is busy with the bag that Joyja washed & I then flick-carded:

It’s darker, and has a longer staple length than the wool that I prepped from the same fleece.  Unlike me, Joy had spinning experience under her belt!  She knew what she was aiming for!

Author: iriegemini

Lara is originally from Jamaica, living in the Greater Toronto Area with N, and a cat, Melvin. She knits, spins, weaves, and is a chatterbox on all of the above. Lara's journey began as a young girl with her Grandmother's cross-stitch embroidery stash & blessing.

Leave a Reply

