The Knit Knack's Blog

Better living through fibre

One gift down…

Leave a comment

It’s the Noble Cowl, a most excellent Christmas gift.  All along – right down to the last stitch – I had this crazy idea that it was for my Jamaican MIL.  The answer to her mid-September  request for, “a small sort of cravat so I could put in in my neck chest region to keep warm in the office…

Naturally, I glossed over certain realities of life in the tropics & chose this piece of winter outerwear.  For her to wear with her blazers at work.  Never minding that she doesn’t wear lovely jewel tones but kidding myself that I could win her over to my way of thinking…  So, seeing the FO in all its glory, I have faced facts.  It is not for MIL.  I know exactly who it’s really for & feel much better about the whole thing.

No polar bears were harmed.

I used ²⁄3 of a skein of Fleece Artist Sea Wool on 3.25mm DPNs.  It’s 135 stitches around or 9 repeats of the shield pattern & 8 or so inches high.  It did take me almost 2 weeks to make & is def. not mindless knitting.  At some points, I just wanted the K2togs to be over!  After blocking, I think that the shields/ leaves will show beautifully.

The challenge is to find a cravat-like pattern that is A/C & office-friendly.  It would be great if that pattern also makes for good knitting.  My high school uniform included a tie.  5 years of daily tie-wearing put me off scarves, cravats, neckerchiefs and the like for life!

 

Author: iriegemini

Lara is originally from Jamaica, living in the Greater Toronto Area with N, and a cat, Melvin. She knits, spins, weaves, and is a chatterbox on all of the above. Lara's journey began as a young girl with her Grandmother's cross-stitch embroidery stash & blessing.

Leave a Reply

