The Knit Knack's Blog

Better living through fibre

Out of the Delldrums?

Leave a comment

5 weeks ago we ordered a new laptop from Dell.  The original delivery date came & went but now they promise the gem is “in the truck” en route to our house.  This is no special-order machine by the way.  Ask me about their customer service if you dare!

Baby Sierra was born yesterday afternoon.  Her aunt sent word to say mother & child are both well!  This is the dress I designed & can’t wait to give her Mom.  It’s been under wraps for months but I’m 100% certain that no-one close to her will be checking up on me now, so!  Thankfully, the Baby Bamboo yarn behaved well under my serious blocking.  The edging is now blessedly flat and even (phew!).

Blocking the world's first Sweetie Pie Dress

This is the FO on a hanger.  Love the wood buttons lots!

I am going to work this pattern up as soon as the new laptop is up & running.  Let’s hope that Dell is correct and the laptop is well & truly out of production….

‘Tis the season for Christmas knitting… my Angee sock is still without a mate, and I am resisting the strong urge to spin.  This is what I decided on for MIL’s cravat request.  Take 2 is a Lacy Baktus scarf in a variegated colourway of the Sea Wool yarn by Fleece Artist.

If you can make it out, there’s a green stitch marker to the right of centre.  It’s what I needed to keep the row counting going.  The pattern is the very soul of simplicity but I was getting my odd & even rows confused.  Garter stitch does that.

Do you know what else garter stitch does?  It eats up yardage.  I am playing with over 380 yards of the Sea Wool but this is looking like a mini-scarf.  As you can see, I made peace with that idea, and started to decrease anyway.  This is only part of MIL’s presents & well, another skein is not in the cards.  I am now on the hunt for a nice pin.  Tying a knot with the ends is, admittedly, out of the question.   DH is in love with this & I hope he’s an accurate predictor of his mother’s reaction.

Also knitted is a prezzie for someone in the bloggy audience.  Obviously, I can’t post a picture here – yet.  Check out Irieknit on Ravelry if you care to peek.

Author: iriegemini

Lara is originally from Jamaica, living in the Greater Toronto Area with N, and a cat, Melvin. She knits, spins, weaves, and is a chatterbox on all of the above. Lara's journey began as a young girl with her Grandmother's cross-stitch embroidery stash & blessing.

Leave a Reply

