The Knit Knack's Blog

Better living through fibre

Delayed post

Leave a comment

These pics were jailed in the camera all week, thanks to trouble in my USB drivers.  Trouble is resolved & here we have the Fetching hand-warmers.  I gave them to my friend Kay yesterday when we got together for lunch.

First there was a left FO.

Then a right one in progress.

And lastly, the pair.  I was trying to get the 1 minute of sunshine the morning had on offer.

I have to say the production knitting for Christmas gifts is getting old.  I may be pretty much done with that now.  Which makes our plan to go into Toronto for the One of A Kind Craft Show today, all the more necessary!

Our own gift exchange has lost the element of surprise.  DH’s heart was set on a Kindle as soon as Amazon expanded into Canada.  I tried to reason with him but you see not all readers are bibliophiles….  Rooms with books on shelves are what I need.  Actual clippable newspapers too.  DH won; I caved.  For 2 reasons.  1 – It was clear that hand-knit slippers wouldn’t cut it this year.  2 – Hmm for the cost of that there Kindle, I could get how much yarn, patterns, books, spindles, etc.?!

Then Mom also decided to ditch surprises.   Her fail-safe gifts?  A spindle & fibre.  Specifically, a Golding 3″ top whorl cherry Tsunami spindle & cream Shetland combed top.  It’s been a good week of on-line shopping 🙂

In DH’s corner, I bought a pair of used Paradise Fibres 2-row hand-combs in a Ravelry marketplace (for the Romney prep), a skein of Poems sock yarn, and this beauty.

Matches my rose quartz

It’s 100% new wool merino pencil roving by Schoppel Wolle.  A whole new spinning experience.  It’s a 180° change from my home-prepared Romney wool.  It practically drafts itself & the long strip means far less splicing on of new supply.  Kinda like stepping into an automatic car after learning on an old standard jalopy.  Of course, the hand combs should improve the Romney experience.  For now, I can just zone out spinning this loveliness.  I would call it hand candy but um, that has other connotations…

My kitchen orchids are going for more blooms!  Good for the grey skies.  Good for my mood.

Author: iriegemini

Lara is originally from Jamaica, living in the Greater Toronto Area with N, and a cat, Melvin. She knits, spins, weaves, and is a chatterbox on all of the above. Lara's journey began as a young girl with her Grandmother's cross-stitch embroidery stash & blessing.

Leave a Reply

