The Knit Knack's Blog

Better living through fibre

Pick me UP

Leave a comment

I am feeling a tad seasonally affected.  Yesterday was cold but today?  Well, Toby was very happy to see his wool sweater this morning.  Winter is here.  We are fleeing south in just a few days, so I really have no business complaining.

So there I was moping about the icy roads, my ill-preparation for gift exchanges and the like when the mail lady called.  Talk about a mood swing!  In a massive, perfectly packed box came the long-awaited Golding Tsunami.  Cherry 3″ whorl & walnut shaft:

Courtesy of Mom.  She says (on a long-distance call) I must “put it up.”  I laughed my head off at that one.  We agreed on a don’t ask; don’t tell policy.  If you notice, the cop of yarn spun itself.

I have it on good information that this Golding is fierce!  I also loved how Tom & Diane listed the contents for USPS.  It’s printed as “drop spindle.”  Handwritten beside that for the good folks at Canada Border Services is the best explanation:

Hand tool used for spinning wool into yarn.

I did finish the Wham Bam cowl tout d’suite.  With no Malabrigo yarn to spare.

The fold is so deep because I had so little yarn left for seaming.  Here’s how it looks on me:

Ixnay on the full-face pics.  I am looking as tired as I feel apparently.

Project name is Instant Cowl.  I am torn between getting more skeins to make this for the other 2 sisters, and working my spindle.  Torn but leaning in favour of the spindle.

Author: iriegemini

Lara is originally from Jamaica, living in the Greater Toronto Area with N, and a cat, Melvin. She knits, spins, weaves, and is a chatterbox on all of the above. Lara's journey began as a young girl with her Grandmother's cross-stitch embroidery stash & blessing.

Leave a Reply

