The Knit Knack's Blog

Better living through fibre

Spindling through

Leave a comment

The unfolding crisis in Haiti has been more & more difficult to watch.  I stayed with CNN’s coverage.  There is the feed of raw images and stories.  That alone is tough to take but then the journalists have also become unhinged.

I get that it must be traumatizing to work in and report on this earthquake’s aftermath.  They are witness to extreme suffering, the stench of death in the hot sun, and every aspect of this whole-scale catastrophe.   It has to be worse than gut-wrenching.  Added to all of that are fears of riot and mob rule.  And still.  The foreign professionals cannot be the focus.  At the height of the emotional coverage, I complained to the network.

Haitian people are in my prayers.  They have all of the same trauma but may be maimed, starving or thirsting.  Largely helpless.  They have lost everything and must fight for dwindling resources.  Every class out of doors in the ruins of their nation’s capital.

At some point early on, I just had to put my knitting down.  I wanted to spin through what I was seeing on tv.  It was cathartic to do the same set of motions.  I am making something by simply guiding twist into the wool.  I started by plying on the Golding Tsunami:

First fruits with the merino finger roving.  I plied 2 singles in Jamaica to show my family how beautiful their gift was in action.  “Oh yes,” they nodded.  So, the yarn was on the Tsunami’s shaft already.  Rather than just finishing it off, I decided to try out this 3-ply thing with it.  Not the conventional way but I just over-plied a 3rd single.  Let’s call it an experiment!  It’s still quite twisty after finishing but I’m happy with its consistency.

This is a Romney skein that I plied before the holidays but had no time to brag on:

These are my new hand-combs – a present from DH.  See the fluffy mystery fibre that they came with?

I combed and spun it into a single.  It’s happily plied with some remnant of the last Romney single.

It’s earmarked for my first knitting with hand-spun.

Another small 2-ply skein from previously-spun Romney completes the pink & grey trio:

Now that every available single is plied, I went back to spinning the merino-that-Ribbons-chewed.  Puppies!  Since he’s otherwise a dear, I am spinning his stray fur in with the merino.  I only had 1.75 oz of the stuff to begin with.  There is a method to the madness though.  If I hurry this could be an entry in the Spindlers’ January challenge to spin a skein of “vitality” yarn.

I got a jolt to all this spinning on Sunday when I went out to Jordan Village for my very first spin-in… more about that in the next post!

Author: iriegemini

Lara is originally from Jamaica, living in the Greater Toronto Area with N, and a cat, Melvin. She knits, spins, weaves, and is a chatterbox on all of the above. Lara's journey began as a young girl with her Grandmother's cross-stitch embroidery stash & blessing.

Leave a Reply

