The Knit Knack's Blog

Better living through fibre

Progress 2 ways and Kindness

Leave a comment

This might look like I’m at a standstill but really this is a spanking new January Lady Sweater:

Version 1.o was sadly deluded.  It was kidding itself into thinking that it could ever fit me.  So, to mix metaphors, I bit the bullet & frogged.

Not pointing fingers or calling names but sometimes garter stitch knitting can go to one’s head.  Version 2.0 is not only knit according to the yarn’s gauge but also up a size to the 37½ bust.  It also boasts a slip-stitch edge and neater buttonholes.  Now for the yards of EZ’s gull lace pattern…

I also made good on the promise to sample the fruits of my hand-spinning.  Thanks to Amelia Ask the Bellweather‘s post for Beginning Spinners like me, I found 2 free & easy spinner’s control cards:  from a guild; & on flicker.

Armed thusly, I backed out the grey Romney/ mystery wool 2-ply for a test drive.  A mere slip of a thing at 46′ & 20 wraps per inch (wpi).  Meaning that it is a scrap of fingering weight.  Perfect for sampling.  On my US 2/ 2.75mm needles it became something:

From that wee swatch I am relieved to see that my counter-clockwise hand-spun (z twist) didn’t want to split much on knitting & has no bias.  Of course, it’s a wee thing, so we shall see.  I’ll be paying closer attention to swatching from here on in.  Really.

Why do I have z-twist yarn?  Yah.  I spin sitting down like a market woman – inner left thigh rolling to be exact.  [Mother did shudder]

As for kindness… a week ago First Susan from the Wool Bin’s knitting group gave me her super-bulky alpaca scarf.  It’s fantasically warm:

Second Susan originally bought this Misty Alpaca yarn, hated the colourway & destashed it over to First Susan.  At the meet-up I was alone in loving the FO’s bright colours.  That very week, First Susan presented it to me!  Here I am that day in my coat, hat & new scarfy:

How did I ever go this many years without a long, thick scarf of my own?  Duh!

This scarf isn’t only warm though.  It’s a splash against dreary winter days like this:

Thanks again to the 2 Susans!

Author: iriegemini

Lara is originally from Jamaica, living in the Greater Toronto Area with N, and a cat, Melvin. She knits, spins, weaves, and is a chatterbox on all of the above. Lara's journey began as a young girl with her Grandmother's cross-stitch embroidery stash & blessing.

Leave a Reply

