The Knit Knack's Blog

Better living through fibre

Slightly Slutty er Slouchy Socks

Leave a comment

A pair of socks that are slightly slutty?  Blame it on the sale-bin yarn.  Cookie A.’s design for Angee is pretty tame but in hot pink Jitterbug?  Then it’s the Lady Saw of socks:

That alizarine 119 colourway is bright.  Better than light therapy for SAD!  Take 50%-off and everything looks cool in the LYS, right?

Remember how I added 4″ to the cuff, and shaped it out down the leg?  Next time I’ll only add 3″ in.  The top is slightly slouchy & the arches are on the baggy side if I’m being honest.  I think that a short-row heel may give a better balance for my school m’arm calf → heel issues.  This is my 2-pronged strategy for attaining the elusive fit:

  1. Work through my new books Socks from the Toe Up by Wendy Johnson & New Pathways for Insouciant Sock Knitters by Cat Bordhi; and
  2. Dust-off yonder treadmill.

As you can see, the toes don’t match.

That would be because my (diligent) notes that covered foot & toe shaping were lost on Air Jamaica flight JM078 in December.

There you have it – 1st Cookie A. pattern & 1st FO of 2010!

On Friday I found out that another baby gift needs to be queued.  My girlfriend is pregnant & due early May.  She doesn’t know the baby’s sex, so my first thought is a blanket… not sure what type yet but am working on it.

Author: iriegemini

Lara is originally from Jamaica, living in the Greater Toronto Area with N, and a cat, Melvin. She knits, spins, weaves, and is a chatterbox on all of the above. Lara's journey began as a young girl with her Grandmother's cross-stitch embroidery stash & blessing.

Leave a Reply

