The Knit Knack's Blog

Better living through fibre

Worthwhile endeavours

Leave a comment

One of my favourite fiber blogs is island sweet out of Newfoundland.  This Monday she wrote this post on her new fresh flowers.  I couldn’t agree more – fresh flowers keep me going this time of year, as island sweet notes this is when “nature sleeps.”  My kitchen orchids are the stars of the household in winter.  This year is the biggest display yet:

Pippi, over there on the left is working up her own spike.

I am torn between spinning this 3rd single for my merino yarn, and knitting the January Lady Sweater.  Singles 1 & 2:  “Are we there yet?”

That’s right, the January Lady Sweater is not gathering dust in a corner.  The gull lace’s row 1 kept tripping me up but I finally got the hang of it, and am going at a bit of a clip.  Just adding a single marker at mid-back is what helped me not knit way past what Finella calls, un petite boo boo.

If you follow the Yarn Harlot, you know that her anniversary post was poignant.  She worries that 6 years in her blog is less relevant in this age of Ravelry.  Followed by a mile-long comment roll from readers (yours truly included) who beg to differ.

Raising my hand to speak now.  Almost 4 years ago, I found the Harlot by hook or by crook.  How many times did I check the blog for respite from the daily big-city grind?  I was on a tight pivot between Knitty & Yarn Harlot.  Who knew there was a knitting scene… in Toronto?!  I was Clueless.  She gets that she grew into a Very Important Blog, and has the banners to prove it.

Now, I’m not raising my voice or anything when I type… It’s not a thing of the past, Ms. Pearl-McPhee!  Seriously.  Let’s fast-forward to September ’09.  There I was sucking-up Ravelry, and You Tube like you wouldn’t believe.  I was almost done cleaning Peter-Tosh-the-Fleece & was gearing-up for the Kundert spindle’s arrival.  Excited like crazy… but. Essentially. Clueless.

Clueless that is, until I caught sight of a post on a certain blog about a Field Trip dated September 2nd.  The one I speak of is  here.  What did I learn?  Why that the Royal Agricultural Winter Fair is a very fiber-friendly place.  Now all good things in my life happen in chains & this is no different.  The Harlot-Induced Chain went like this:

  • Man, I have to get to this winter’s Royal!
  • And so I did (true story).  It wasn’t just about a day at a fair though.  I was bowled-over by the Guilds and the drop spindlers.  So much so that I dropped the shy act & actually spoke with any available person.  They told me amazing things (funny how that works, isn’t it?!).  Like how there’s actually an Oakville Handweavers & Spinners Guild.
  • Just last week I acted on that information & wrote to Guild President, Ixchel Suarez about attending a meeting.  Now I’ll be going on Friday.   They haven’t even met me yet but are already extending a welcoming, helping hand.

It all started because of a blog post.  Whatever she decides, I have the Harlot to thank for enriching my life like this.  She’s at the receiving end of brutal reactions but should also know about the good that comes of her blog.  Hey, she brought me out of my shell over and again.  That’s something!

Author: iriegemini

Lara is originally from Jamaica, living in the Greater Toronto Area with N, and a cat, Melvin. She knits, spins, weaves, and is a chatterbox on all of the above. Lara's journey began as a young girl with her Grandmother's cross-stitch embroidery stash & blessing.

Leave a Reply

