The Knit Knack's Blog

Better living through fibre

Skills development

Leave a comment

I wound-off the 3rd of 3 merino singles last night.  Here’s how my spinning has changed this month… still consistent but:

Exhibits 1, 2, 3 Spun in that order.

… clearly I am spinning with more yarn on the spindle’s shaft before I call it quits.  Each ball is a single that I wound-off and rolled on itself… no other core but the single.  Just a little trick that I learned from Respect the Spindle by Abby Franquemont.

The downside to this nice illustration is that if I go ahead with ‘Plan A’, i.e. plying exhibits 1, 2 & 3 together for the January Spindlers’ group challenge, I’m left with silly remnant balls.  A ‘Plan B’ would be to forget the challenge & spin the rest of the wool for an even (I hope) match.  Things that make me go, “Hmmmm.”

I’m very excited because this afternoon is the meeting for the Handweavers & Spinners Guild.  I actually need to get a move on for said reason!

Have a great weekend!

Author: iriegemini

Lara is originally from Jamaica, living in the Greater Toronto Area with N, and a cat, Melvin. She knits, spins, weaves, and is a chatterbox on all of the above. Lara's journey began as a young girl with her Grandmother's cross-stitch embroidery stash & blessing.

Leave a Reply

