The Knit Knack's Blog

Better living through fibre

Where did January go?

Leave a comment

January, over in 2 seconds flat.  Faster than Usain Bolt.  It went out with a spin bang though…

There was my visit to the Oakville Handweavers & Spinners Guild meeting last Friday afternoon.  Their blog is here.  It was a Very Cool Experience!  First off, after emailing back & forth, it was great to finally meet the president, Ixchel.  Not only is her work as a weaver amazing but she is also really passionate about the Guild.  The members were also all so welcoming!  I never felt out-of-place & don’t you know that another lady has generously invited me over to try out her own wheels?!

Sitting in the meeting truly felt like someone had flipped a switch.  Here I’ve been fumbling along, and all of a sudden I am finding out about 4 local events, looking at fiber magazines, and listening to a presentation about design trends.  It was such a pleasure that I had to join!

Then over the weekend, I pushed ahead with plying & finishing the merino skein for the Spindlers group’s January challenge to spin about “Vitality.”

What me worry?  The fingering-weight yarn was was all done with time to spare on Sunday… so, I played with Picassa.  You can think of this as the “My Dog Ate my Wool” entry:

If you haven’t been following this, basically, while we were in Jamaica my Mom’s 1 year-old puppy took a shine to my wool.  He’s a bit mouthy that Ribbons (to wit, the picture above).  He mauled some vitality into the pink pastel merino before I caught him in the act.  I gave him some assertive (not so calm) dog whispering & we came to an understanding about my wool.

To honour his contribution, I spun his stray fur in with the wool.  It’s called The Itality Skein in my Rav stash.  As in Ital – for more on that see:  this Wiki.  This was my very first Spindling challenge, & I’m happy for all the love-clicks.

Still on spinning… I have ordered a copy of Amelia Garripoli’s Productive Spindling thanks to the excellent review in Spin-Off’s winter ’09 issue!

In the silence of our guest bedroom the miniature rosebush has been busy this January:

A bit leggy but blooming!

Man, is that a sight for sore eyes!

Author: iriegemini

Lara is originally from Jamaica, living in the Greater Toronto Area with N, and a cat, Melvin. She knits, spins, weaves, and is a chatterbox on all of the above. Lara's journey began as a young girl with her Grandmother's cross-stitch embroidery stash & blessing.

Leave a Reply

