The Knit Knack's Blog

Better living through fibre

Jumping off the Bandwagon

Leave a comment

While my take on the February Lady Sweater chilled (incomplete) in sundry bags around the house its Ravelry bandwagon got a little more crowded… insane heights of popularity @ 8,250 projects & counting.  It’s cute, free, and in 7 languages.

My original plan was to get going on the baby gift this weekend.  Well, that went straight out the window… I came down with a cold & my hands weren’t down with the superwash wool experience.  I switched over to the very forgiving Diamond Galway in my FLS.  It saw me through hours of Olympics coverage, and was simply lovely to work with.

Just a note – no photos of my poor, sick face, okay?  Believe me you, I am grinning & very happy with this baby!

Teal Jan-Feb Lady Sweater

I had to stretch out the project name for accuracy.  And from the back:

Usually big old swaths of garter stitch in clothes look hopelessly 1970s to me.  What I found in knitting the Aestlight shawl last summer is that garter is also amazingly cushy.  The yoke on this sweater is a hand-knit hug.  It really is that nice.

In terms of new skills this was a gentle step-up.  I learned new things like raglan construction from the top, and 1 row buttonholes but it was all within reach.

The only thing that I didn’t like was the sleeves.  You are going from the armpit down, so every 14 or so stitches the whole sweater needs to be turned.  That was a slog and I really never got a good way to knit them in the round.  The whole time it seemed like I was adjusting the circulars &/or DPN combos.  Since the pattern gives zip in the way of sleeve length, I was also trying it on for size.  I did want ¾-length sleeves & decided on 11 ½” plus a 2″ garter cuff.  The cuffs are 12 rounds of garter casted-off purlwise.

It was easier to decide on the body’s length.  I just worked off a favourite cardi & went with 18″ long for 5’2″ me.  The body has a sewn cast-off to keep things elastic.  I haven’t finished the neck edge but may do a single crochet around.

Wish me luck with the baby gift!

Author: iriegemini

Lara is originally from Jamaica, living in the Greater Toronto Area with N, and a cat, Melvin. She knits, spins, weaves, and is a chatterbox on all of the above. Lara's journey began as a young girl with her Grandmother's cross-stitch embroidery stash & blessing.

Leave a Reply

