The Knit Knack's Blog

Better living through fibre

Handspun in the house

Leave a comment

My first wheel-spun yarn:

Four whole plies!!!  It varies from worsted to aran weight at 10 – 12 wraps per inch (WPI), and is a conventional S-twist, i.e. left-slanted.

Plying on a wheel was awkward at first but I soon caught on.  I was drafting from 2 outer-pull balls that I put under small flowerpots, and that was familiar.  For gauging twist, I kept my eye on the plied yarn as it passed over my index finger.  That gave me a good read on matching the twist.

What really surprised me was how quickly the Wee Peggy’s bobbins got filled.  They are small but the yarn wound-on very loosely as well.  Here I am, a dedicated cop-building spindler, having to take scissors to lengths of singles not once but twice!  I don’t really need the never-ending skeins but it still stung to cut them.

With 3 skeins to my credit, I can happily repeat the process with the rest of the Coopworth roving.

This 2-ply Romney had been sitting on the Tsunami for awhile, so I skeined & finished it together with the 3 Coopworth sisters:

I love the shading from dark to light greys in this skein but it does look under-plied.  As you can see from the tag, it’s a nice fingering-weight.

If anyone is taking Megster’s Top-Down Sweater class at Spun this afternoon, they will see my February Lady Sweater, IRL.  Meg borrowed it to give the students a real FO example of an adult-sized sweater knitted from the top.  Judging from how quickly she tried it on last night, I suspect that a FLS might be in her future too!

The up-side of handing the sweater off was to hang out with the Friday night knitters at Spun.  I brought my BFL combed top, and had great conversations about spindling.  I think interest is growing but that spinning seems a little far-out to a lot of knitters.

Off to have lunch & get baking for Cuz’s engagement party tonight!  Have a great weekend ~ rain or no rain!

Author: iriegemini

Lara is originally from Jamaica, living in the Greater Toronto Area with N, and a cat, Melvin. She knits, spins, weaves, and is a chatterbox on all of the above. Lara's journey began as a young girl with her Grandmother's cross-stitch embroidery stash & blessing.

Leave a Reply

