The Knit Knack's Blog

Better living through fibre

Spring, I like

Leave a comment

People often ask me if I like living with changing seasons.  Well, I say that we have 2 seasons in the Caribbean – rainy & dry.  Then I go onto explain about Christmas breeze.  They smile back at me weakly.  Uh, I need a little more time before I’ll get excited about wardrobe rotation… but spring?  Spring, I like.

For one thing, the back garden is coming back to life.  I moved the maple leaf to give tulip some room to grow:

Sedum’s just hanging out.  I said a few kind words of encouragement.

The maple’s out to be massive again this year.  Buds on every branch!

Indoors, I got some oregano to sprout.  It was high time I admitted that crooning over dead herb plants won’t bring them back to life.  3 months into this experiment, even I had to accept that our 2 weeks away over Christmas did them in.

These were just sprigs from the supermarket herb packet.  I think they are happier not getting chopped-up for dinner.  Trust me, you don’t have to buy the potted plants.  Ever.

In my next post, I’ll write about how I am on the horns of a dilemma.  It’s like gerbils in my brain.  Argh!

Author: iriegemini

Lara is originally from Jamaica, living in the Greater Toronto Area with N, and a cat, Melvin. She knits, spins, weaves, and is a chatterbox on all of the above. Lara's journey began as a young girl with her Grandmother's cross-stitch embroidery stash & blessing.

Leave a Reply

