The Knit Knack's Blog

Better living through fibre

Wild Whirl

2 Comments

This is my horns-of-a-dilemma post.  This ISO status for a first-wheel has its twists & turns.  Getting a spindle was easy by comparison.  For example, my Grafton Mala practically fell into my lap at $35 & look what she’s made on the first go:

That’s a honking ball when you consider that it’s all BFL laceweight.  I started the second single last night.

Getting a wheel – not so easy.  It’s no secret that I love the loaner Wee Peggy wheel.  All anticipated problems have seemed to melt away but new ones are cropping up, such as:

  1. It’s wee & sturdy but not an airplane traveler.  Great on the backseat of my car.  This all begs the aching question:  but will I even fly with a wheel?!
  2. She might just be the new gateway drug.  This is the will-I-outgrow-Peggy issue.  My birthday is in 4 months.  A former Wee Peggy owner told me that she outgrew hers pretty quickly.  Which leads me to the other issue…
  3. Am I thinking like a collector here?  Can I afford to?

My first guide in all of this was Abby Franquemont’s oft-linked article Choosing your First Spinning Wheel.   The title alone is so reassuring.  She explores the modern starter wheel options & comes down in favour of the Majacraft Pioneer.  Well, I’m lucky enough to know of one that’s for sale.  In the spirit of being sensible, I have borrowed that Pioneer.

Toby fights back for his morning sun.

It spins very smoothly, and treadling is a breeze.  That’s my Coopworth on the bobbin.  I was swallowing the basic looks/ mdf construction when DH waltzes in & pans it straightaway.  Which really was the only excuse I needed to seriously wonder if I liked the delta orifice, etc.  On the other hand, the used-to-me price is reasonable, and Abby made v. good points.  But.  I have to say:  it lacks a back maiden.  Where would I put my spinning angel?

To be honest, the Pioneer is not a strong contender right now.

My other idea is to keep Miss Peggy & get a Lendrum in the near-term.  Lendrums are Canadian made, maple, good all-round wheels.  A guild member has offered to let me try hers out next week.  I will be looking to see if the angle on the drive wheel bothers me.  If you don’t know, Lendrums tip forward.  That could be an issue because I’m on the shorter side of life.

If I have to give Miss Peggy back then I would want to go in above entry level.  I think that a Schacht Matchless DT + accessories would be a good trade-off.  There’s one in Ohio with a sale pending.  Do I think it’s worth a drive there & back?  Yes, I do.

It’s been a wild whirl to quote this BF-posted poster.

In the meantime, I really need to step away from Ravelry marketplaces!   Today may just be the day for sock knitting.  The baby blanket is all done:)

Author: iriegemini

Lara is originally from Jamaica, living in the Greater Toronto Area with N, and a cat, Melvin. She knits, spins, weaves, and is a chatterbox on all of the above. Lara's journey began as a young girl with her Grandmother's cross-stitch embroidery stash & blessing.

2 thoughts on “Wild Whirl

  1. Definitely try out as many wheels as possible. You will be shocked at the differences in spinning. And don’t forget the aesthetics. It IS important to love the tools you are using. ……and if Peggy needs a home…um..I’m open. ;0) I adore these wheels. Good luck in your decision making!

    • Thanks! This Peggy’s spoken-for:) I’ve agreed to get her, which is good because other spinners were starting to take an interest. I will probably want a 2nd wheel but no rush… Miss Peggy is great as a 1st & only while I weigh the options.

Leave a Reply

