The Knit Knack's Blog

Better living through fibre

Pitfalls happen

Leave a comment

I had a change of heart on the sock front.  Last time I posted, there was a cuff+ of the Sandalwood Socks by Caitlin Stevens.  Well, that idea got scrapped when I realized how much chart-squinting was involved.

Then I went from the proverbial frying pan into the fire.  By deciding to knit from the toe up.  It’s a new-to-me knit knack.  From its good angle here’s the partial sock:

I followed Cat Bordhi’s instructions from her New Pathways for Insouciant Sock Knitters book for the toe.  The  rest is/will be Wendy Johnson’s Lacy Ribs Socks design in her Socks from the Toe Up.  So what’s dicey about that?  I give you the heel:

Bad heel!  Resulting from me trying to fudge a toe-up short row heel for my yarn’s gauge.  Toe = win!  Heel = fail 😦  Story of my life, I tell you…

And do you know what the bad part is?  I’m not sure how to fix it.  A search for online tutorials is in my future.  For now, the sock waits while I go for long walks with the Tobster.

It is spring, after all.

There are also highs & lows in the spinning department.  The narrative, chronologically:

  1. On Sunday, I drove out to Jordan Village for the Fibre Garden’s spin-in.  Bad weather cleared for an easy drive with Miss Peggy on my backseat.  It was great to see John, Alan & Rusty (super-friendly dog) again, partake of their cookies & coffee, and meet new spinners.  BTW – Joy, I saw your old Louet IRL!  Good day of spinning on the Peggy & also getting brave enough to try out the store’s Majacraft Rose.  All with the same Coopworth roving.  After spinning, I also got some cream Polwarth roving.
  2. Monday was even better because that’s when I spoke with Miss Peggy’s owner, and we agreed that I could buy her wheel.
  3. Naturally, what with the mishapen sock heel & the “new” wheel, I had to spin.  About 15 mins into this happy state, I pulled a piece of the Coopworth fibre & saw the pest – a clothes moth.  Just chilling.  Cripes!
  4. I won’t get into the freak-out phase.  Wool is in my freezer.  I am seriously worried because I’ve had it for a whole month.  Result = an up-tick in the house-cleaning, and emails sent to all relevant parties – Fiber Garden, the wool’s retailer, and today the big-name distributor. John at FG immediately gave me tons of advice how to handle this & the distributor was responsive.  The retailer?  Silence.  (wow, right?)
  5. My BFL spindling is affected but I am spinning the new Polwarth.  Polwarth, mmmmm.

I have been busy with weekday spinning meet-ups as well.  It’s amazing how generous each spinner is with me.  They give of their time, offer their equipment, and are helping to connect me with others.  Coming from teaching myself into the community has been a great experience.  Lots of encouragement & feedback.  Yesterday, I not only got to try a Lendrum DT & a Majacraft Little Gem but I left with tips, and even a copy of Fibre Focus.  Just seeing other, more advanced spinning styles is eye-opening.

The thought of fighting a moth infestation is scaring me silly.  How do I deal?  Well, the Polwarth is helping.  Just started on Tuesday & now I have this much:

First Polwarth single, Wee Peggy

Reminds me of the Jamaican place name for a mineral spring – Milk River Bath.  Here’s a newspaper article if you want to know more:  (newspaper linky).

Currently spinning 2nd Polwarth single

Which, in turn reminds me that I want to go there someday soon!

Tomorrow, is the Spinning/ Weaving Guild meeting, so the inspiration won’t stop!  I am willing the moth & its kin to die.  The frozen Coopworth roving will go out in the garbage.  It’s not worth the risk.

Author: iriegemini

Lara is originally from Jamaica, living in the Greater Toronto Area with N, and a cat, Melvin. She knits, spins, weaves, and is a chatterbox on all of the above. Lara's journey began as a young girl with her Grandmother's cross-stitch embroidery stash & blessing.

Leave a Reply

