The Knit Knack's Blog

Better living through fibre

Le Tour, day 2

Leave a comment

Happy 4th!  Never fails that I remember my Grandmother on the 4th of July.  A New Yorker, born & bred, she married into and loved Jamaican life.  Every year the little American flags came out on this one day, and she was the very soul of celebration.

Day 2’s progress in the Tour de Fleece!  I am in Team Spindlers & Team Suck Less (Friends of Abby’s Yarns or FOAY).  Have been posting in the team threads, and the daily threads like a good weekend warrior.

I could have spun more for those cops but was (happily) getting into the golds in the fibre.  My friend, Teresa, would like roughly even blocks of colour for her lace knitting.  Off it came…

I was super-happy that the spindles had almost equal amounts of singles on them.  The first wind-off had left a good deal over on the spindle to the right.  I eye-balled for evenness, and was right!

So far, this should be in the range of Teresa’s requirements.  I’ll ply them all in one go for consistency in the ply twist.  I would typically just enjoy the spinning process but it’s not for me.

My shoulder is a bit upset with me.  I promised to obey the cardinal rule of spinning – Be Kind to your Body.  Always.

Author: iriegemini

Lara is originally from Jamaica, living in the Greater Toronto Area with N, and a cat, Melvin. She knits, spins, weaves, and is a chatterbox on all of the above. Lara's journey began as a young girl with her Grandmother's cross-stitch embroidery stash & blessing.

Leave a Reply

