The Knit Knack's Blog

Better living through fibre

The new leaf

3 Comments

The Powers That Be have recently changed in my life.  Just 2 weeks ago, I served my last day in the day job.  It was an uneventful and amicable ramp-down but all of my energy had gone into working difficult files & big decisions this summer.

I usually keep this under wraps but this day job was as a junior civil litigation associate in a small firm.  I went back after the 1 ½ years of being in a non-working creative space.  That I loved but lacked structure.  It is a general service firm, so I learned to do everything + the kitchen sink.  With an assistant of much aggravation.  I worked 4-days with these trusted mentors and got the structure and challenges that I missed.  Steady salary to fuel the creative side, etc.  Zero in the way of glamour but I loved mentoring the articling student who is now a friend.

It’s really just almost a week since I got pulled back in for a Battle Royale of sorts.  Rather brutal but I lived to tell the tale, and now have this new Boss who agrees with me about keeping a tiara in the office.

The Boss Lady also lets me out for my Tuesday’s daytime spinning group.  She happens to understand about finding antique wheels in corners, and spinning friends.  Just yesterday, I hauled a saxony wheel out, got on the ground & assembled her again.  She was painted green & has a name carved in the bed!  And the Tuesday before?  A spinning friend quietly gave me her Tom Forrester accessory.

The tag says black walnut but not what it is?  My 1st thought was a diz!  Problem is that all 4 of its holes are evenly large.  Searching the listings over at Gemini Fibres here hasn’t solved the mystery… any ideas?

My mind is not All Made Up.  There’s no panic – just trying to decide on the next steps and path.  However this plays out, I am just happy to rejoin the things that I missed in the past year & to put our home life back into some order.  I suppose that DB put it best when he said, “Just follow your heart, and don’t leave your brain behind.”

Toby and I came upon this sapling in the park today.  It’s turning new leaves too.

Even though it’s right across from this poor guy:

I’ll save the current projects for another post.  Which is assuming a lot.  We are under a tornado watch tonight.

Author: iriegemini

Lara is originally from Jamaica, living in the Greater Toronto Area with N, and a cat, Melvin. She knits, spins, weaves, and is a chatterbox on all of the above. Lara's journey began as a young girl with her Grandmother's cross-stitch embroidery stash & blessing.

3 thoughts on “The new leaf

  1. I believe it’s a plying template (see the description of them about 1/3 of the way down on this page: http://www.geminifibres.com/Product/Spinning/accessories.htm#Forrester)

  2. Plying jig was what I was going to say too- but InJuneau beat me to it! It’s a beautiful thing; enjoy!

Leave a Reply

