The Knit Knack's Blog

Better living through fibre

Baby Love, and then some

2 Comments

My cousin’s baby shower was in Toronto this past Sunday.  As soon as she announced her due date of December 27th, I knew that they would be needing warm knits…

… for the winters are a given in Ontario!

The patterns are from Sandi Rosner’s Bella Baby Ensemble in the Knitter’s Book of Wool.

The yarn is Fleece Artist – a beautiful Sea Wool for the body, and Silky Wool for the accent.  In gender-neutral colours that remind me of the Caribbean Sea.

My modifications were simple – I used the German twisted cast-on; slipped every 1st stitch; and didn’t size-down needles for the trim.

It was 10 days in the knitting (along with me-projects).  Only last minute stuff to do?  Buttons, and a final block & wrap.

The expecting parents both loved the gift, and there were lots of questions from everyone else at the shower.  My basic answer?

Yes, I will take commissions.

Next-up is the Aviatrix Baby Hat by Justine Turner.  It is a monster pattern on Ravelry with almost 6,000 projects to date.

Made for my friend Meg‘s little Monkey, so naturally I dug out my old stuffed monkey for modeling.

It’s true that I did this all a year ago.  However.  We are still current… Monkey is just starting to wear it now.  And, dear blog, therein lies a story.

I was giving a hand-spun knit.  It’s Targhee wool top dyed by Natural Obsessions… I was trying my 1st long-draw… The skein clearly illustrates 2 main things:

  • Both yardage & time were short.  Not enough for ear-flaps much less a swatch; and
  • My 1st long-draw was mighty uneven.  Turns out the thick won over the thin.

This Targhee wanted to be big (I am told that all Targhee does).  It was not tamed to size by tight knitting on 3.5mm needles.  I learned something the hard way.

Yes, the Monkey Aviatrix is a little big

To her credit, Meg did not laugh me to scorn.  She was kind about this lesson I was learning.

Just this past week Meg mentioned me with Twitter pics of both Monkey and his big sister, Alligator wearing this hat.  It is a communal hat.  Alligator looked even cuter than her brother in it too.

Another one off the bobbins!  It’s approx 676 yards, 2-ply of a 80% wool/ 20% mohair/ 20% bamboo blend.  If you saw me posting about my experience fishing out lost ends in bobbins… this is the culprit.

It was all spun on Earl, my Spinolution Mach2 wheel, and I am no longer mad at either the bobbins or the yarn.

The rose bush that could!  Have a great day and take heart.

Author: iriegemini

Lara is originally from Jamaica, living in the Greater Toronto Area with N, and a cat, Melvin. She knits, spins, weaves, and is a chatterbox on all of the above. Lara's journey began as a young girl with her Grandmother's cross-stitch embroidery stash & blessing.

2 thoughts on “Baby Love, and then some

  1. Aww, baby knits are always so precious. My cousin and her husband (who is a pilot) are planning for a baby … as soon as I get word they’re pregnant I will be knitting up a Aviatrix Baby Hat for them. Too cute!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

